Technical Manuals in the Book Arts Reference Collection
Art of the Fold and Letterpress Now are two of many technical manuals available in the Book Arts Reference Collection
Selected Print Reference Materials
No Longer Innocent by Call Number: Z1033.F5 B75 2005ISBN: 1887123717Publication Date: 2005-07-15Available in Boatwright Circulating Books on B2
The Century of Artists' Books by Call Number: N7433.3 .D78 2004ISBN: 1887123016Publication Date: 1995-07-02Available in Boatwright Circulating Books on B2 and the Book Arts Reference Collection
Booktrek by Call Number: N7433.3 .P45 2013ISBN: 3037642076Publication Date: 2013-09-30Available in Boatwright Oversize Books on B2
Artist/Author: Contemporary Artists' books by Call Number: N7433.3 .L37 1998ISBN: 9781881616948Publication Date: 1998-02-01Available in Boatwright Oversize Books on B2
Artists' Books: A Critical Anthology and Sourcebook by Call Number: N7433.3 .A75 1985ISBN: 9780879052072Publication Date: 1985-09-01Available in the Book Arts Reference Collection
The Book on Books on Artists Books by Call Number: N7433.3 .D48 2013ISBN: 0956173888Publication Date: 2014-02-28Available in the Book Arts Reference Collection
1,000 Artists' Books: Exploring the Book As Art by Call Number: N7433.3 .S35 2012ISBN: 159253774XPublication Date: 2012-06-01Available in the Book Arts Reference Collection
A Century of Artists Books by Call Number: N7433.3 .C38 1994ISBN: 0810961245Publication Date: 1994-11-01Available in the Book Arts Reference Collection
Cover to Cover: The Artist's Book in Perspective by Call Number: N7433.3 .P47 2002ISBN: 905662282XPublication Date: 2003-03-02Available in the Book Arts Reference Collection
The Cutting Edge of Reading: Artists' Books by Call Number: N7433.3 .H83 1999ISBN: 9781887123211Publication Date: 1999-04-02Available in the Book Arts Reference Collection
Artists' Books: A Critical Anthology and Sourcebook by Call Number: N7433.3 .K59 1998ISBN: 9781887123181Publication Date: 1998-05-02Available in Boatwright Oversize Books on B2
Selected Print Reference Materials
Boatwright Memorial Library has copies of many technical manuals focusing on a variety of Book Arts subjects, including hand bookbinding, paper marbling, papermaking, and letterpress printing. These are available in the Book Arts Reference Collection located in the Book Arts Studio.
Type in your search term in the Search field to search "Books & More (Catalog)":
Choose "Book Arts Reference Collection" from the Location menu to narrow your search within the books available in the Book Arts Studio:
Browsing Books by Subject in the Catalog
To browse books related to Book Arts and Artists' Books, use call numbers N7433.3 and N7433.35
To browse books about the Book Industry and Trade, use call numbers Z116 through Z659
Article Resources
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to fine, decorative and commercial art; architecture; and architectural design. (EBSCO)
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) | Répertoire de la Littérature de l'Art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowSearch for citations of articles and books covering European and American visual arts, including painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture, crafts, graphic arts, folk art, and popular art. (Getty)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
Selected Journals
- CODEX PapersThe CODEX Papers is an annual journal dedicated to bibliographic and art historical research and opinion in the field of contemporary book arts.
- Guild of Book Workers NewsletterThe GBW Newsletter appears 6 times a year. It contains the latest in GBW news, reports from the chapters, reports of conferences or meetings, supplies being offered for sale, publication reviews, and an extensive calendar of events.
- Hand PapermakingHand Papermaking is a semiannual journal that features articles on a variety of topics within the field, including: contemporary artistic approaches, craft techniques, historical topics and reference, international development, and educational initiatives.
Hand Papermaking also publishes a quarterly newsletter which includes letters to the editor, short articles from regular columnists, plus timely listings for national and international exhibitions, lectures, workshops, competitions, etc. The newsletter also includes classified and display advertising. - Journal of Artists' BooksJAB's mission is to engage with the field of artists books by means of critical discourse and creative exploration of the intersections of book arts, artists books, poetry, photography, experimental literature, printmaking, graphic design and other book-related creative endeavors. JAB ceased publication in spring 2020.
- The BonefolderAn e-journal focusing on bookbinding and book arts. Ceased publication in 2012.
- UmbrellaUmbrella is the most comprehensive online quarterly covering the arena of artists’ books, art books and other multiple editions, including audio and new media.
Online Book Arts Resources
- Artists' Books OnlineArtists' Books Online is designed to promote critical engagement with artists books and to provide access to a digital repository of metadata, scans, and commentary.
- Book Arts WebThis is the home of the Book Arts Web which features links to a large selection of book arts related sites on the web, including educational opportunities, professional organizations, tutorials, reference materials, and galleries with images.
- The history of printing and the evolution of the bookUprinting has compiled an extensive list of links to resources on the history of printing, papermaking, and the evolution of the book.
Podcasts
- iBookbindingInterviews with book artists and binders, as well as bookbinding tutorials.
- Bookbinding NowBookbinding Now is a community based biweekly audio series addressing all aspects of the book.
- Book Arts Podcasts at the University of AlabamaInterviews with book artists and bookbinders
- Rare Book School LecturesRare Book School sponsors a number of free, open-to-the-public evening lectures each year at the University of Virginia on a wide variety of bibliographical topics.
