Getting the Full Text of Articles
Use the following steps to find an article if the database you are searching does not have the full text:
1. Look for a "Locate it" button, which will link you to either the journal in which the article is published or to the article itself.
If there is no link, try
2. OneSearch, using the exact title of the article, or the author's name and title keywords.
If it's not in OneSearch, try
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available.
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- If the article is on Google Scholar, but you are asked for payment, request the article via
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Recommended Resources
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from journals that publish feminist research in areas of sociology, history, political science, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. (EBSCO)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to religion and philosophy, including world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. (EBSCO)
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (EBSCO)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles and books on topics related to psychology. (APA)
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowSearch these databases at once: Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Online, Twayne's Authors Online, and the Gale Literature Criticism. (Gale)
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of letters and diaries written from colonial times to 1950 by famous and not-so-famous women from all age groups, life stages, ethnicities, and geographical regions. (Alexander Street Press)
