Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID Information & Resources: Textbooks and Resources

Textbooks and Resources (Free or Expanded Access - LIMITED time through the end of term.)

EBSCO [participating publishers]

  • Upgrading existing holdings to Unlimited-User access until June 30 for a growing list of publishers.* This upgrade went live on Monday, March 16.
  • Discounting Unlimited-User access at One-User pricing for new e-book acquisitions

 ProQuest has announced that its Ebook Central titles will have unlimited simultaneous users for over 50 of their included publishers starting next week until June 30th.  The full press release provides a list of the publishers. [Participating Publishers]

Our institution has been approved for HathiTrust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), and it has been activated for campus. Based on the print holdings data that HATHI has, our faculty, staff, and students have reading access to 41.54% of UR's print collection through ETAS.

Once logged in with UR credentials at www.hathitrust.org, users will be able to access the entire public domain corpus plus temporarily have limited access to in-copyright and copyright-undetermined volumes that are held by your library. Your library should avoid lending print items that are in-copyright or copyright-undetermined when a digital copy is available to your students, faculty, and staff in HathiTrust. 

Steps for access:

1. Sign in to HATHI, with UR credentials

2. Search for a book title

3. If you see that it’s available through temporary access -- then it is available to view.

4. Click on Temporary Access - then Check out — you get it for 24 hours and it will renew if no one else wants it. 

5. While you can’t download an entire book, you can make a page by page pdf save or page scan.

Highlights of the service

  • Books currently available to you through the Emergency Temporary Access Service have the label “Temporary Access.” Through your university’s membership with HathiTrust, you can also get access to books that are marked “Full View” as you always do. Books marked “Limited (search-only)” are restricted based on the Terms of the Service, and you cannot access them.
     
  • You can read “Temporary Access” books online only as long as your university is eligible for the Emergency Temporary Access Service. Access to certain books may also change over time as your library provides us with updated information about books it holds.
     
  • “Temporary Access” books can be read only online. You can download one page at a time. You can’t download the whole book. These restrictions are in place based on the Terms of the Service and our understanding of copyright law.
     
  • “Temporary Access” books can be accessed only by students, staff, and faculty at the universities that have been approved for the service. Unfortunately, this service is not available to alumni/alumnae or individuals who have guest affiliations.
     
  • You can check out a book for 1 hour. Your access will renew automatically at the end of that hour, unless another user requests the book after that hour is over. 

 

The web pages below provide additional information to help you get started:

The Emergency Temporary Access Service will be available to members of your campus only for as long as the current emergency situation persists. You are responsible for notifying HathiTrust when your library has reopened and access to your physical collections is restored. We will work with you to shut off the service at that time. We wish everyone in your community all the best during this challenging time.

 

 

Project MUSE - participating publishers - temporary access to scholarly content for free on their platform. Includes content from Johns Hopking, OSU, University of Nebraska, UNC, Temple, and Vanderbilt Presses.

JSTOR resources added access during COVID-19

JSTOR announcement (5-27-20): ​As colleges and universities confront the fall, it is unclear whether students will be able to return to campus or if learning will again have to be online. Even if students can return, what is clear is that there will be extensive reliance on online resources and instruction. To help the community respond to that challenge and to aid faculty and libraries in planning for the fall semester, we are announcing today that the following expanded access programs will continue through December 31, 2020:

  • Full archive expanded access program (all Arts & Science Collections, Thematic Collections, Primary Source Collections not currently licensed by your institution are available at no additional charge). Institutions who have already signed up, we will automatically extend your access. Please let us know if you would like to end it prior to December 31.
  • Browser Pairing
  • Freely accessible Public Health journals newly added in March 2020
  • Freely accessible coronavirus related books and journal articles
  • Free online reading expanded to 100 articles/month
  • Remote access enablement, upon request, for public library participants, for JSTOR and Artstor

  • A special collection of 35,000+ ebooks is now freely available to JSTOR's participating libraries through June 30, 2020. More than 80 scholarly publishers have contributed to this effort to help replace access to physical collections during this unprecedented crisis. Because your library participates in the Books at JSTOR program, we will automatically turn on access to any ebooks in this collection that you do not already license on Tuesday, April 7.

Elsevier - has a centralized place to hold their COVID-19 information and updates and additional offerings during this time (ENDS 6/15/20):

  • An information center with expert, curated, free-to-access information on COVID-19 for the research and healthcare communities
  • Novel Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information Center for nursing and healthcare educators offering remote teaching resources and support for nursing and healthcare educators
  • ScienceDirect Textbooks: The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect for a period of 90 days.
    • Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.  
    • Access the title list here (expected to be updated by end of day Wednesday, March 18)

UR Libraries has set up free access to SAGE Video, SAGE Research Methods Video, and SAGE Knowledge for 90 days. This access ends July 31st.

You can access the content as follows:

To help you and your school’s instructors dive right into these resources, we have gathered links to user guides, tutorial videos, and email templates to help you get the word out to your faculty members. You can find all of those links here.  

Library closures caused by the pandemic have affected faculty and students everywhere, requiring publishers like us to devise some interim solutions. In order to help, De Gruyter and our Publisher Partners will offer digital access to the thousands of print books held in university and college libraries. We plan to make 75,000 DRM-free eBooks from ©1650 through ©2016 available on degruyter.com through June 30, 2020. To peruse the list of publishers, number of available titles and highlights from each Partner, please click here.

Royal Society Publishers:

Following a decision to make relevant COVID-19 content free to access, RSP has now removed all access controls on their journals for the time being.

From the publisher:

We want to support our librarian and researcher communities, and understand that people may be working remotely for a long while. We do not want access issues to impede any work for our end-users during this tumultuous time.

Because the paywall will be down, this means that you will have access to additional content for researchers. 

Cambridge University Press is making higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online during the coronavirus outbreak. Over 700 textbooks, published and currently available, on Cambridge Core are available regardless of whether textbooks were previously purchased. We recommend a Laptop/Desktop computer with Google Chrome for the best viewing experience. Textbook content is read only and cannot be downloaded. Free access is available until the end of May 2020.

Access will be automatically arranged if you already have access to the current free reference collection, which includes Cambridge HistoriesCambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements.

 

FLIPSTER

Current, Popular Magazines | Temporary Access through June 30th

Flipster Support site

Here you will find:

  • Video tutorials for users
  • Getting started guides and information sheets

 

LibGuides Menu

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.