Start by phrasing your subject or general topic in the form of a question.
Then ask yourself further questions about your topic:
Select the “Books and More” tab on the search box on the libraries main page.
There is also a “Books and More” link under Quick Links.
If you are already engaged in OneSearch, you can choose Books, Audio, or Video from the Item Type dropdown box beneath the search box.
If you know the exact title of an item, you can type the title in the Simple Search box.
If you only know some words in the title, go to Advanced Search and use the left-side pull down and select “in the title”.
Go to Advanced Search and the use the same pull down box and select “as author/creator”.
The order in which you type the parts of a name does not matter. For example, Studs Terkel and Terkel, Studs will produce the same results.
After completing a search, use the options on the left-side. You can refine by a number of options, such as Full Text Online, Available in Library, Author/Creator, Subject/Topic, Resource Type, and more.
Using Advanced Search, drop down the "Any field" menu and select ISBN if searching for a book or ISSN if searching for a journal.
Go to Advanced Search, and use the Material Type pull-down.
Not currently, but you can search for e-books by selecting "Books" as the material type and limiting the search to "Full-Text Online".
On your results page, one of the filters on the left hand bar is “Source Database.” Click it to see the databases from and publisher collections from which most of the results have been drawn, then choose any database to see only those results.
If you wish to conduct additional searches in that databases, click on “Databases A-Z” at the top of the page, from which list you can select the one of interest to you and conduct new searches limited to that resource.
As with most electronic information today, there are multiple ways to access it. Because OneSearch pulls from many sources there are sometimes two ways you can get to it: 'View Online' and the Get It command button. While both links should take you to your resource, the 'View Online' link is the one to try first. Get It can be your second option if 'View Online' does not resolve.
In some cases, there will be only one option and you should use whichever appears.
Click Sign In in the upper right corner of the OneSearch page, enter your UR Netid and password when prompted, and click Login.
When you sign into OneSearch, you can:
Access articles and data from electronic resources licensed by the University Libraries and indexed in OneSearch.
Set your preferences so that they reflect the way you usually search, and save them for future sessions.
Save your searches
Save items to your Favorites
Set up alerts for new items that meet your saved search criteria
Request items from the Libraries’ collections
From the results list, use the pin icon to save an item to your Favorites. If you are not signed in, this option is temporary and items will disappear from the Favorites area when you close your browser.
In OneSearch you also have the option to add an item to your Favorites or to E-mail, Print, or export a record.
After searching OneSearch, you can click the title of any record in your results list
Click on the 'Send to' link in the right corner of the record.
Simple Search on the library’s main page allows for keyword searching. You can limit a search to a particular phrase by putting the phrase in quotation marks (e.g. “global warming”). You can also use AND, OR, NOT operators (e.g. cardinals AND baseball); you must use ALL CAPS. By using the gear tool at the right end of the search box, you can also add limits to the types of material to be searched.
Advanced Search allows you to limit your search to Title, Author/Creator, Subject, or Tag. You can also specify “contains” “starts with” or “is (exact).” Specific dates and languages can be selected. Resource type will limit your search to a specific format or material type, such as Book or Video/Film.
Sign in and click on the down arrow next to your name to see your loans, requests and favorites.
Sign in and click the little pin icon to save any record you are viewing. If you are viewing a list of items, you can save individual titles by clicking the pin icon to the right, or you can click the boxes to the right of several items and save them all at once.
How can I get a list of authors with the same name or titles that begin with the same word(s)?
Among the options at the very top of the page is Browse. Click on it and choose the type of browse list you want: author, title, call number, or subject.
There are a couple of ways. If you know the title or author of one book, find the record in the catalog and click on one or more of the subject headings assigned to that item (this works for articles, too). Or you can do a virtual browse. Among the options at the very top of the page is Browse. Click on it and choose the type of browse list you want: author, title, call number, or subject.
First find the journal of interest to you. In this example we use Atlantic Monthly.
Then search for the name or phrase of interest. In this case, “Covid-19.”
After you click the search icon, you will get a page that shows your results—the list of articles in Atlantic Monthly that has your phrase. If you pick one and click on either the title or “available on line, you will again see the list of databases that include this journal, as in the image above.
But this time, if you click on a link to one of the databases, you will be taken directly to the article of interest, and not the general search page for that database.
All the titles in these databases are also in the library catalog and findable with keyword searches, but you may prefer to browse..