LibGuides Menu
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowA discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings.
Secondary Sources on Historical Events
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of journal articles and book reviews for United States and Canada history.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window250 volumes from the renowned Cambridge Histories series, including extensive bibliographies.
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual HistoryIn more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
- Encyclopedia of American Social MovementsA comprehensive range of social movements is treated in 16 broad categories, from civil rights and women to antiwar protests and global justice.
Biographical Resources
- Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowRemarkable people in any walk of life who were connected to the British Isles. Covers numerous historical periods. (Access limited to one user at a time.)
- Biographical Directory of the United States Congress (1774 - present)Descriptions of all Senators and Representatives who have been members of the US Congress.
Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian
.jpg)
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Open Education Resources (OER), Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Russian, Spanish, Special Topics
