Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Richmond, VA - Books
The Dream Is Lost by
Call Number: F234.R59 N446 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-26
Richmond's Unhealed History by
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Five Miles Away, a World Apart by
Publication Date: 2010-08-06
Race, Class and Power in the Building of Richmond, 1870-1920 by
Publication Date: 2004-05-03
The Richmond Slave Trade by
Publication Date: 2012-03-04
Slavery on Trial by
Publication Date: 2007-10-28
We Face the Dawn by
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
City of Richmond Resources
Richmond Afro-American and Richmond Planet
Microfilm of the Richmond Afro-American and Richmond Planet, 1941 - 1996. Call number: PN4882.5.R532. Located in the microfilm area of Basement Level 2. Digitized issues are available from 1883 - 1922 from the Library of Congress.
Richmond Public Library
The Richmond Public Library has several special collections related to the history of the city, including newspaper clipping files, city records, etc.
Library of Virginia
In addition to historical documents about the state, it also holds information specific to the Richmond area, including:City/County Information: City Directories, History narratives, Complete run of Richmond phonebooks, City Magazines, City/County Records
Virginia Museum of History & Culture
Collections consist of a wide range of objects, including books and bound serials, Confederate imprints, sheet music, broadsides, newspapers, family and personal papers, business and organizational records, genealogical materials, maps, paintings, prints, postcards, weapons, militaria, glass plate negatives, and 19th - 21st century photographs.
Valentine Richmond History Center
The Valentine Richmond History Center houses three collections: Archives, General Collection, and Costume & Textiles. If you are interested in learning more about these collections or making an appointment to research objects, please make your request in writing as outlined below. A small portion of our collection is now available for viewing in a complimentary searchable online database.
ConnectVA is a one-stop communication network linking individuals with the ideas, information and resources that help the Central Virginia nonprofit community stay informed and work together.
City of Richmond
Official web site for the City of Richmond. Contact city officials, obtain information about business, services and other points of interest
Poverty in Metropolitan Richmond
Poverty in Metropolitan Richmond (Virginia) reflects the work of Dr. John Moeser, Senior Fellow of the Bonner Center for Civic Engagement at the University of Richmond. For nearly ten years, Dr. Moeser has been analyzing U.S. Census data to track poverty trends among the localities of metropolitan Richmond, Virginia.
Local news and features, entertainment and cultural calendars, restaurant listings, reviews, menu guides, classifieds, and personals.
Richmond Free Press
Independent newspaper in Richmond, VA. Published on a weekly basis, it is mainly targeted at the city's African-American community. Archives are available on microfilm at the Library of Virginia.
Explorations in Black Leadership
Oral history provides a richly textured layer to the history recorded in books and articles. This site features a collection of interviews of leaders in the black community.
Black History Museum and Cultural Center
The Museum collects documents, limited editions, prints, art and photographs for use in its Black History Archives program. This program will be of major significance because of the scarcity of written records on the Black experience.
A guide to historical sites, monuments and events in Richmond, VA.
U.S. gateway website to information at the local, state and national level. Search specifically for Richmond and Virginia issues, etc.
Learn RVA (from RVA History)
RVA History is a working group comprised of representatives from University of Richmond, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Union University, Reynolds Community College, and the Valentine Museum. The group was assembled to develop a collaborative strategy to orient faculty to Richmond’s History so that they have context for their teaching, research, and community engagement and can develop authentic partnerships.
VCU Libraries - Special Collections
Collections focus on Richmond imprints and Richmond and Virginia history from the mid-Richmond serial publications from the late 20th century to the present with a focus on alternative serials and zines.
ICA - Institute for Contemporary Art
ICA at VCU presents the art of our time and provides an open forum for dialogue and collaboration across the region and throughout the world.
Head, Scholarly Communications
Subjects: Citing Sources
, Faculty Resources
, First Year Seminar
, Getting Started with Library Research
, Leadership Studies
, News Sources
, Reference Sources
, Religious Studies
, Special Topics