It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LDST 250: Evaluating Charities and Organizations: Home
Is the premier independent charity evaluator, its mission is to advance a more efficient and responsive philanthropic marketplace by evaluating the financial health of over 5,500 of America's largest charities.
Requires free registration. Provides financial information on over 1.8 million nonprofits and information about nonprofits' programs and "Tips for Choosing a Charity: A Donor's 10 Step Guide". GuideStar Premium, a comprehensive and authoritative source for both grantmakers and grantseeking tax-exempt charities is available at The Pittsburgh Foundation Center in the Carnegie Library.
The Charity Watch (formerly known as the American Institute of Philanthropy) rating of over 500 charities are based on what percentage of the budget goes to programs and not fundraising and expenses. To get an A rating charities must spend 75% of funds on programs and spend less than $25 to raise $100.
This website sorts over 300 charities by the subject area they raise funds for, and also by foreign or domestic focus of activities. All charities have met the government's 10 accountability standards.
Develops and disseminates high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society.
Comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants.
Covers over 140,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; over 3.8 million recently awarded grants; and over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
These databases contain scholarly and popular articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers. Search the database for news articles and profiles about your chosen organization.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Scholarly database providing a collection of bibliographic and full-text content in all disciplines of business.
Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.; Citations, abstracts, and full-text; Abstracts: 1886 - present; Full-text: 1990 - present
Broad and current coverage of scholarly research and information related to all levels and areas of education.
Content primarily consists of articles, but also includes some books and conference papers.; Abstracts with some full-text; Varies by title mostly mid-1990's to present with some content back to the 1930's
Provides comprehensive city, regional and state news, primarily for Richmond, Virginia, from Aug 19, 1985 to the present.
Full-text, abstracts, and citations; 1985 - present; Special attention is given to Virginia's tobacco and agriculture industries, as well as numerous large companies such as the CSX Corporation, Bank of Virginia and James River Corporation. Richmond's employment base extends from chemical, food and tobacco manufacturing to biotechnology, semiconductors and high-tech fibers.
Religious Studies, Philosophy, Journalism, SPCS Core and Liberal Arts
FYS and SPCS KM Instructor
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173