It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LDST 101 - Kaufman: Leadership and the Humanities (Kaufman)
Submit a well-researched, carefully composed analysis of some aspect of the rise of fascism in Germany during the 1920s and 1930s. Please narrow the topic to keep it manageable and, if you wish, compare what you’ve researched in Germany to recent developments in Europe and the United States. Sample topics include: Nazism’s overtures to women, to business, to industrialists, or to youth; the Hitler cult; failures of the Weimar republic or the social democrats or the German communists; the leadership circle around Hitler (Goebbels or Göring); the scapegoating and prejudice; Nazism’s public relations (literature, Mein Kampf; film); the 1936 Olympics; the role of the paramilitary; Nazism’s peculiar brand of ethno-nationalism. Primary and secondary sources are available from course reserves, but use the data bases and bibliographies mentioned here to discover more. Be coherent; be creative; be brilliant. Use materials that are on the library's electronic and print reserves system and search the various library databases below for additional information.
Maximum: 2,500 words: place word count at the end of the paper.
Collaborative submissions welcome (no more than 5 on a “team”).
Due: noon, December 18th. Deposit in Peter’s mailbox, Jepson 126.
Full references in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliography.
Refer to the MLA or Chicago guide to format references.
Place your name(s) on the back of the last page.
Since first publication in 1843, the Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week.
The archive provides researchers with a fundamental collection of high-quality primary material, including every leader, special report, letter and every piece of advertising across a wide range of subject areas. The Key Economic Indicators section can be exported and manipulated separately.; Full-text and tabular data; 1843-2011
What is fascism? Is it revolutionary? Or is it reactionary? Can it be both? Fascism: A Very Short Introduction unravels the paradoxes of one of the most important phenomena in the modern world — tracing its origins in the intellectual, political, and social crises of the late nineteenth century, the rise of fascism following World War I, including fascist regimes in Italy and Germany, and the fortunes of ‘failed’ fascist movements in Eastern Europe, Spain, and the Americas. It also considers fascism in culture, the new interest in transnational research, and the progress of the far right since 2002.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
Adolf Hitler was, arguably, the most extraordinary leader who has ever lived. He left behind a legacy of destruction without parallel in history. Yet there is a paradox at the heart of the story of Hitler: given his violent and hate-filled character, why did millions support him, ultimately to the destruction of their own country? These three films examine Hitler's relationship with the people he led during the Second World War, with the help of testimony from people who were there, compelling archive film and dramatic reconstructions.
Hitler Youth Quex (German: Hitlerjunge Quex) is a 1932 Nazi propaganda novel based on the life of Herbert “Quex” Norkus. The 1933 film Hitlerjunge Quex: Ein Film vom Opfergeist der deutschen Jugend was based on it and was described by Joseph Goebbels as the "first large-scale" transmission of Nazi ideology using the medium of cinema, Both the book and the film fictionalized and glorified death in the service of the Nazi Party and Hitler.
Religious Studies, Philosophy, Journalism, SPCS Core and Liberal Arts
FYS and SPCS KM Instructor
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173