LibGuides: FYS 100 (11) Why YA? Young Adult Literature and Social Change: Scholarly Research

Basic Library Tools

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
A discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present

Google Scholar
A subset of Google, focusing on academic sources.
Interlibrary Loan
Use our interlibrary loan service to request books and articles not available at UR.

Scholarly Journals Focused on Literature for Young People

Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
the Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books reviews current books for children. The Bulletin is published monthly by the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Each review evaluates the book's content, reading level, strengths, weaknesses, and quality of format.
The School Librarian
Covers developments, book reviews and other information for school librarians in primary and secondary schools.
Literary Cultures
Literary Cultures is written by BA (Hons) English students at Nottingham Trent University
Children's Literature
Publishes theoretically based articles that demonstrate an awareness of key issues and criticism in children's literature.

Databases for Researching Literature and Education

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, and folklore from all regions of the world from the late Middle Ages to the present.
Covers books, articles, and dissertations. Best place to start for language and literature research.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and other published sources within the general humanities.
Citations, abstracts, and full-text; 1990s - present; some coverage back to 1960s
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works
Biographical sketches of over 130,000 authors and critical articles on over 2,000 authors from all times and places, and on their works. Includes essays from reference works, journals, and books. Content covers numerous centuries, mainly 20th and some 19th.; Full-text
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad and current coverage of scholarly research and information related to all levels and areas of education.
Content primarily consists of articles, but also includes some books and conference papers.; Abstracts with some full-text; Varies by title mostly mid-1990's to present with some content back to the 1930's
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Thorough resource for research in the media studies and communication studies fields.
Full-text; Varies by title
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journal literature
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics
Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Resource providing coverage on all aspects of librarianship, information retrieval and information management
Index to over 600 periodicals providing coverage on all aspects of librarianship, information retrieval and information management.; Citations, abstracts and full-text; Varies by title, some with coverage 1960s - present