The annotated bibliography assignment asks you to experience and experiment with a variety of information that you might encounter when researching any particular question or topic. This particular assignment will help you better understand chattel slavery in Virginia.
1) Include title and full citation, using Chicago Style.
2) Brief summary of its contents as it relates to the enslavement of people in Virginia.
3) An evaluation of the source's perspective.
4) An evaluation of the source's legitimacy. Is it reliable?
5) Brief report on how the source contributes to understanding the daily life of enslaved people in the U.S.
Class Texts & Films
Kindred by Octavia E. Butler; John Jennings (Illustrator); Damian Duffy (Adapted by)
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
This collection contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves collected as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration.
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
This database from the Virginia Historical Society increases access to its varied collections relating to Virginians of African descent. Within these documents are numerous accounts that collectively help tell the stories of African Americans who have lived in the state over the centuries.