LibGuides: FYS 100 (35/37) The Island of Tears: Film Representations of Migrations from and to Italy (Corradini): Navigating the Library

Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Resource covering national & international newspapers
National & international newspapers, television & radio news transcripts; Citations, abstracts, and full-text; Varies by title, 1980s - present
Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new window
Current and archived full-text articles from thousands of U.S. and global news sources and news video clips.
Search a single newspaper, a select group of titles, or the entire collection. Use the map-based interface to search publications within a region.; Full-text and video; Varies by title; new content added daily
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full web access to The New York Times and NYT Archive from 1851-present. For the date range 1923-1980, users are limited to 5 accesses per day. In order to access NYT content, UR students, faculty, and staff must redeem a code which will provide them with 26 weeks of uninterrupted access to NYTimes.com.
Click on NYT-Activation Link to redeem a 26-week pass.
- Login using your UR NetID and password.
- Click the button to "Redeem a 26-week pass to the New York Times website."
- Click Redeem.
- Complete registration fields.
- Click Create Account. -- You must use a @richmond.edu email address to create an account.
Note: If you have a current paid New York Times subscription, you will have to call 800-698-8437 and cancel your paid subscription, prior to registering for NYTimes.com through the university.

Film, Media, Literature & Art Databases

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, and folklore from all regions of the world from the late Middle Ages to the present.
Covers books, articles, and dissertations. Best place to start for language and literature research.
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes the content of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979 - 1998); Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.; Citations, abstracts, and some full-text; Years: 1972 - present
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and popular performing arts journals, many with access to full-text.
Indexes over 260 scholarly and popular performing arts journals, many with access to full-text; Citations and some full-text; 1864 - present
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
A research database for the study of art and architecture.
Contains complete indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications, and books, including some full-text coverage and an image collection provided by Picture Desk and others. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general viewers.
Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text; Earliest indexing goes back to 1914; earliest full text back to 1930; most coverage begins in 1980s
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Thorough resource for research in the media studies and communication studies fields.
Full-text; Varies by title

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journal literature
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics
Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and other published sources within the general humanities.
Citations, abstracts, and full-text; 1990s - present; some coverage back to 1960s
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present

Streaming Movies

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary streaming video collection of award winning documentaries, educational films, classic Hollywood movies, and world cinema.
A collection of thousands of films from leading distributers and producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, BBC, Media Education Foundation, Great Courses, Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, Documentary Education Resources. Covers a vast array of subject areas in sociology, anthropology, the humanities, the arts, womens studies, LGBT studies, business, math, sciences and more. Tools are available to share and create custom clips and playlists, and the platform includes searchable transcripts, and captions. Includes public performance rights for screenings on campus.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to new and classic Hollywood films, documentaries, and TV series from major studios.
Support and technical requirements for using Swank can be found here.
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
This collection offers streaming of hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary streaming video collection of documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others.
Topics covered include history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, womens studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. Tools are available to make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created.; Streaming video

Boatwright Memorial Library

FYS 100 (35/37) The Island of Tears: Film Representations of Migrations from and to Italy (Corradini): Navigating the Library

Start Your Research

Newspapers

Film, Media, Literature & Art Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Streaming Movies