Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

FYS 100 (03): Transatlantic Crossings: Finding Books, Articles, and Essays

Reference Books for Background Information on History and Culture

These links below will take you to the catalog record for a book, from which you can determine its location (ususally in the reference collection on the first floor)

Basic Library Tools

Clicking on the title of a book from the list of results  displays the details about the title, it location, its availability, the subject headings assigned to it, and often its contents.

Depending on the type of material,  you may need to use the location and call number information to find the material on the shelf in the library, or, if it is an online resource, click on the link to the full text.

In the middle of the page, you also have options to email, save to a citation database format, or add to a list of saved titles in in your account (you'll have to sign in to do this). Simply click on the available links.

If a book you need is checked, you can request a copy via our inter-library loan service.  Sign in to your library account to see this option.

Further information on searching Academic Search Complete and other Ebscohost databases can be found on this Help page:

http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=67
 

Sources of Articles in Journals and Encyclopedias

Getting the Full Text of Articles

If the full-text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, look for a "Locate it" button, which will link you to either the journal in which the article is published or to the article itself.

If there is no button, use the Journal Titles tab in the red search box at the top of the main library web page to search for the title of the journal, or use the link below.  If we have a subscription, you will learn what years are available and in what database.  Some or all years of a journal may be available only in physical form in the periodicals collection on B2.

For other journals we may have limited access, for example, not the most recent issues or not the earliest published issues. If we do not have access to the issue you need, use  ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.