Provides full-text articles, papers and books relating to political science
Full-text; Additional Information: Major resource for scholarly research relating to political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics and non-governmental organizations.
"The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text."
This online exhibit from the National Archives contains not only images of the original draft of the Constitution, but also a transcript, essays regarding the ratification process, changes and amendments and even "Errors in the Constitution - Typographical and Congressional".
After considerable debate and alteration, the Articles of Confederation were adopted by the Continental Congress on November 15, 1777. This document served as the United States' first constitution, and was in force from March 1, 1781, until 1789 when the present day Constitution went into effect.
Primary Source Databases for Early American History
Books on history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel etc. from the Colonial period through the early 19th century. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Full-text books, scores, and newspapers; 1639 - 1819
Books from 1801-1819 published in America on the topics of history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel, etc. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Full-text books, scores, and newspapers; 1801 - 1819