LibGuides: RHCS 361: Rhetoric, Media and the 1960s: Finding 1960s Artifacts

Help Menu

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Use this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)

UR Library Catalog
Locate introductory and research level resources on your topic

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Access the archives of the National Geographic Magazine from 1888-present. (Gale)

These library resources will help find famous photos and art, as well as advertisements from the 1960s.

AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of photos taken by the Associated Press photographers for their news stories. (EBSCO)
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general. The content comes from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. (ITHAKA)
New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new window
Access the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)

UR Library Catalog
Find images and critiques of famous photos, ads, posters and art from the 1960s.

These library resources and websites provide music and films of the 1960s.

American Memory: Music
'The Library Of Congress' digitized collection of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music documenting the American experience.

Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
Stream audio recordings that focus on music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. (Alexander Street Press)

Center for Popular Music
Established in 1985 as an archive and research center devoted to the study of American popular music from the pre-revolutionary era to the present.
UR Library Catalog
Search for 1960s films in the Media Resource Center in the library catalog... you can filter your results to just show movies on the right hand side of your results list.
UR Media Resource Center - Movies by Category
Lists the thousands of films in the MRC collection.

Find influencial fiction and non-fiction writings from the 1960s in the Boatwright Library collection.

UR Library Catalog
Find the major works of the 1960s in the library's collection.

Use these websites and library resources to find information on the political movements, politics, and speeches of the 1960s.

The Living Room Candidate - 1952 - 2008
Archive and overview of presidential campaign television ads, including the 1960s.
Ease History
Archive of historical events and campaign advertisements caught on film... you can search by decade or by event type
American Rhetoric
Provides thousands of speeches in video, audio & transcript format to understand argumentation and presentation regarding public speaking.
Vital Speeches of the Day
Collection of the most important speeches during the time period, covering 1934 to present.
UR Library Catalog
Discover descriptions and analysis of the major political events, movements and speeches of the 1960s.

Email Me

Contact:

Boatwright Library

28 Westhampton Way

804-289-8823