Related Research Guides
Overviews of the Federal Government
- Our American Government (2003) Government document detailing the functions and mechanisms of each federal branch, includes the text of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution.
- Guide to Congress
Covers the history of Congress including powers, procedures, lobbying and relations with the other federal branches. - Guide to the US Supreme Court
Includes the evolution of the Court & its workings, relations with the other branches, Justices' biographies and major decisions. - Guide to the Presidency and the Executive Branch
Covers the history of the Presidency and evolution of the Executive Branch, including historical information, the electoral process, presidential powers, public relations and biographies.
Official Websites of the Federal Government
- White House WebsiteWebsite of the current US President, including stances on a variety of policies and press releases.
- US House of RepresentativesThe portal of the House where current bills, hearings and speeches can be found, as well as individual websites for each Representative.
- US SenateThe portal of the Senate where current bills, hearings and speeches can be found, as well as individual websites for all 100 Senators.
- Supreme Court of the United StatesThe official website of the Supreme Court, including court opinions, documents & docket.
World War II Maps & Pamphlets
- WWII News Maps in BoatwrightListing of WWII maps of Europe and the Pacific at Boatwright Library.
- WWI & WWII Pamphlets in BoatwrightListing of WWI and WWII pamphlets at Boatwright Library.
Finding Govt Info in Boatwright Library
Best Resources for US Government Information
- USA.govOfficial web portal of the US government, searching federal, state, local and tribal government websites.
- THOMAS - Legislative Information from the Library of CongressGovernment database of the bills, documents, activities and votes of the US Congress from 1995 - present.
- Federal Digital System (FDSys)Updated government archive of the major congressional and executive branch documents.
- Open CRSA website that publishes for the public Congressional Research Service reports created for Congress to help with policy making.
- Congressional (ProQuest)
Definitive index of all Congressional documents from 1789 – present - Government Accountability Office - GAOThe GAO is the investigative arm of the US Congress, developing reports for Congress on the effectiveness, accountability and efficiency of the government.
Finding Historical Documents
- Hein-On-Line
Major database for legal history, legal documents and laws - Congressional (ProQuest)
Definitive index of all Congressional documents from 1789 – present - Catalog of US Government Publications Index to US government information
- Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation A digital collection of US Congressional documents and debates from 1774-1875
- Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893Executive, legislative and judicial federal documents arranged alphabetically with a personal name listing in volume 2.
- Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, Sept. 5 1774 - Mar. 4, 1881Executive, legislative and judicial federal documents arranged chronologically.
Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
