Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
RHCS 349: Memory & Memorialization in the City of Richmond
Boatwright Circulating Books
More recently published books on Richmond are available in the regular stacks to check out. Click here for a list of these materials.
Below are recommended materials in our stacks.
Boatwright Rare Books & Special Collections
Boatwright Library has a variety of books on Richmond in its Rare Books & Special Collections. To view all materials on Richmond in these collections click here.
Below are recommended materials in these collections.
Digital Historical Materials
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Virginia This link opens in a new window
Search large-scale plans of Virginia cities and towns, created to assist fire insurance companies assess the risk associated with insuring a particular property. Map information includes data such as the outline of each building, the size, shape, and construction materials, heights and function of structures, and location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house numbers. (ProQuest)
- Archival Resources of the Virginias (ARVAS) This link opens in a new window
Search for information on archival materials housed in historical societies, libraries, museums, colleges, and universities across Virginia and West Virginia. The online finding aids help researchers discover primary source materials that document the history, culture, and people of these two states. (ARVAS)
Local Libraries with Richmond Historical Materials
- Archival Resources of the Virginias (ARVAS) This link opens in a new window
Search for information on archival materials housed in historical societies, libraries, museums, colleges, and universities across Virginia and West Virginia. The online finding aids help researchers discover primary source materials that document the history, culture, and people of these two states. (ARVAS)