LibGuides Menu
Welcome
Welcome to the UR research guide for Chemistry! Use this guide to learn more about the library's rich resources in the chemical sciences -- you can access books, databases, journals, and websites from this page.
I am the liaison librarian for Chemistry as well as many other science disciplines. Please contact me if you need any help with your research!
~ Melanie
Background Information & Key Reference Works in Chemistry
Use encyclopedias and dictionaries to obtain an overview of your subject, an understanding of basic concepts, a summary of key issues, and definitions. Articles frequently include bibliographies and may refer you to other entries on related topics.
Handbooks provide a wealth of information - physical constants, data, tabular materials - in all areas of chemistry.
- AccessScience (the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology)
REF Q121 .M3 2007 - Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra
QC457 .P87 1997 - Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra *
REF QD96 .I5 P67 1981 - Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra *
REF QC462.85 .A44 1993 - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics *
REF QD65 .H3 - Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds
REF QD257.7 .H36 1994 * - Dictionary of Chemical Names and Synonyms
REF TP9 .H65 1992 - A Dictionary of Chemistry
REF QD5 .D4985 2008 - Dictionary of Organic Compounds *
REF QD246 .D5 1996 - Encyclopedia of Analytical Science *
REF QD71.5 .E53 2005 - Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
REF TP9 .K54 2004 - Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
REF QD148 .E53 2005 - Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary *
REF QD5 .C5 2007 - How to Find Chemical Information
REF QD8.5 .M34 1998 - Lange's Handbook of Chemistry *
REF QD65 .L3 - Material Safety Data Sheets
Available through LexisNexis Academic - Merck Index *
REF RS51 .M4 2006 - McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms *
REF Q123 .M34 2003 - Oxford Reference Online (Dictionary of Chemistry)
- Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
REF Q121 .V3 2008
* Also available in Science Reading Room, Gottwald
Science Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Geography, Mathematics, Physics |


Loading...
