To search specifically for books in Boatwright, use the Library Catalog. When dealing with a topic that can be used in many fields it is best to add at least one additional word that describes your area of interest, for example, "African American culture" and "language". Remember that books are generally on broad topics and that you are not searching the full text, only the titles, subject headings, and--if you're lucky--the table of contents.To locate a print book, write down the full call number. To access an online book, click the link in the full record. If the full book record has an image of the book's cover, you can click it to find more information about the book, usually a summary and often one or more book reviews.
You can also search for books using Onesearch and limiting your results to books and ebooks. This has the advantage of searching the full text of our electronic books. Book reviews can also be extremely helpful in identifying the most useful books.
The catalog does not have information about articles in journals. Search for journal articles in a journal database such as Academic Search Complete, one of the other databases listed under the "Finding Research Articles" tab, or in Onesearch.
Clicking on the title of a book from the list of results displays the details about the title, it location, its availability, the subject headings assigned to it, and often its contents.
Depending on the type of material, you may need to use the location and call number information to find the material on the shelf in the library, or, if it is an online resource, click on the link to the full text.
On the right side of the page, you also have options to email, save to a citation database format, or add to a list of saved titles in in your account (you'll have to sign in to do this). Simply click on the available links.
Further information on choosing databases in Ebscohost and doing combined searches can be found on this guide: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=75
Further information on searching Academic Search Complete and other Ebscohost databases can be found on this Help page: