Collections of 19th century newspapers, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Primarily American newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries, including important African-American newspapers. Includes the Pennsylvania Gazette, Frank Leslie's Weekly, suffragist materials, Civil War articles, and Godey's Lady's Book.
Full-text archives of six national papers of record and five historically Black papers.
Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Defender, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Atlanta Daily World, and Los Angeles Sentinel; Full-text; Dates vary with each newspaper.
Periodicals published in Great Britain giving insight into many aspects of the 19th century lifeliterature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions.
Books on history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel etc. from the Colonial period through the early 19th century. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Full-text books, scores, and newspapers; 1639 - 1819
Books from 1801-1819 published in America on the topics of history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel, etc. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Full-text books, scores, and newspapers; 1801 - 1819
Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world.
1600-1926; Additional Information: Includes unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations.
Current and archived full-text articles from thousands of U.S. and global news sources and news video clips.
Search a single newspaper, a select group of titles, or the entire collection. Use the map-based interface to search publications within a region.; Full-text and video; Varies by title; new content added daily
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications. Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
A discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. OneSearch's breadth of searching makes it a good starting point for your research.
These databases assume a the user has more subject knowledge, so try the ones above first.
Journal articles and other research literature in psychology and related disciplines
International index to journal articles, book chapters and books, dissertations and technical reports related to all areas of psychology and related disciplines.; Citations, abstracts, and some linked full-text; 1806 - present; very few records prior to 1890