General Gov Info: Index
On this page, you can find information and links on these topics:
- Finding a Specific Government Publication
- About the U.S. Government
- Government Budget & Finances
Finding a specific publication
Looking for a copy of a specific government document/publication?
Some things you might try:
- Search the Library Catalog. Publications from the Boatwright and Muse Law Library depositories will show up there.
- Search Google. Many government publications are available via the web and easily found through a search engine. Try adding site:.gov or site:epa.gov (or another agency's website) to the end of your search to restrict your results to those domains/sites.
- Search in ProQuest Congressional or HeinOnline. These are our 2 databases with the biggest collections of government documents.
- Search or browse FDSys, the Government Publishing Office's online portal to government information.
- Search in HathiTrust Digital Library. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries; they have digitized many government publications and made them available online.
- Search in WorldCat. If another library owns the item in print, you might be able to get it through Interlibrary Loan (or you might discover that another library nearby has it and you can go use it in person!).
- Contact Samantha Guss, Social Sciences (& Government Information) Librarian, at sguss@richmond.edu for help.
About the U.S. Government
- U.S. Government Manual (print)The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government, which provides comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new windowSearch all CQ Press databases at once, including CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook. (Sage)
Budget & Finances
Governmental and non-governmental organization resources tracking federal spending.
- Budget of the United States Government (Fraser)Complete archive of the annual Budget submitted by the Executive branch for consideration by the Legislative branch, 1923 - current.
- FedSpending.orgEasy to use information regarding the federal contracts and federal assistance dollars spent by Congress.
