Current and archived full-text articles from thousands of U.S. and global news sources and news video clips.
Search a single newspaper, a select group of titles, or the entire collection. Use the map-based interface to search publications within a region.; Full-text and video; Varies by title; new content added daily
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from the Associated Press on a continuous basis, including AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports.
Full-text of major newspapers with separate resources for environment, government, statistics, and legal information
Online access to current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world. Full-text of legal materials (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). Congressional information back to 1789.; Full-text; Varies by title; 1980 - present
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications. Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Provides comprehensive city, regional and state news, primarily for Richmond, Virginia, from Aug 19, 1985 to the present.
Full-text, abstracts, and citations; 1985 - present; Additional Information: Special attention is given to Virginia's tobacco and agriculture industries, as well as numerous large companies such as the CSX Corporation, Bank of Virginia and James River Corporation. Richmond's employment base extends from chemical, food and tobacco manufacturing to biotechnology, semiconductors and high-tech fibers.
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, helping chart the development of the concepts of news/newspapers and the free press.
Primarily American newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries, including important African-American newspapers. Includes the Pennsylvania Gazette, Frank Leslie's Weekly, suffragist materials, Civil War articles, and Godey's Lady's Book.
Full-text archives of six national papers of record and five historically Black papers.
Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Defender, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Atlanta Daily World, and Los Angeles Sentinel; Full-text; Dates vary with each newspaper.
Collections of 19th century newspapers, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Comprehensive collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century.
On July 1, 1884, the Daily Dispatch changed its name to the Richmond Dispatch and went from seven columns per page to eight columns. In 1903, Joseph Bryan, publisher of The Times, purchased the Dispatch and the two papers were consolidated on January 27, 1903, to form the Times-Dispatch.
Information from LOC website and originally provided by: Library of Virginia; Richmond, VA
Index of translated broadcasts & news throughout the world from 1975 - 1996.
Includes these regions: Asia & Pacific, China, East Asia, Latin America, Middle East & Africa, Near East & South Asia & Western Europe. The actual reports are in microfiche format.; Citations; 1975 - 1996