Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Characteristics of Scholarly & Popular Articles:
Are often written by journalists or professional writers for a general audience rather than scholars
Informational, rather than original research
Uses language easily understood by general readers
Articles tend to be shorter
Rarely give full citations for a source -- may be referenced in the article, or not at all
Advertisements unrelated to contents -- glossy photos
Most written by or for academics, researchers or scholars
Uses scholarly or technical language
Tend to be longer articles about research or research findings
Includes full citations for sources, extensive bibliographies or reference lists
Are often refereed or peer reviewed
Few advertisements or color photos. Advertisements related to contents, such as other academic publications or subscriptions