Links to Local Libraries
LOCAL RICHMOND AND VIRGINIA LIBRARIES
Virginia Commonwealth University
Union/PSCE Theological Seminary
County of Henrico Public Library
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowSearch a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. The FirstSearch interface was designed more with librarians in mind. (OCLC)
Richmond Newspapers
These newspapers are available in the Galvin Rare Book Room and, in some cases, online via the library catalog. Please note that the dates listed below are not inclusive in their entirety but contain only scattered editions from within the specified date range.
Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser (1838-1858)
The Weekly Dispatch (1852-1893)
Richmond Semi Weekly/Daily Examiner (1859)
Richmond Daily Whig (1859-1875)
Daily Dispatch (1861-1862)
The Semi-Weekly Dispatch (1861-1892)
The Record of News, History, and Literature (1862-1863)
The Southern Illustrated (1862-1864)
Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860-1865)
Daily Index (1866, 1867)
Daily Richmond Enquirer (1867)
Richmond Dispatch (1869-1896)
Richmond Whig & Advertiser (1870-1875)
Daily News (1874)
State Journal, Richmond (1874)
Richmond Weekly Whig (1875)
State (1879, 1884)
The Commonwealth (1880)
The Times (1891)
Evening Leader (1901)
Times Dispatch (1907)
Richmond Times Dispatch (1924, 1937, 1963)
Digital Resources - Richmond
- Collegian Archive This link opens in a new windowSearch the University of Richmond's student newspaper that has been in publication since 1914. Note: Recent archives are available at the Collegian website. (University of Richmond)
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Virginia This link opens in a new windowSearch large-scale plans of Virginia cities and towns, created to assist fire insurance companies assess the risk associated with insuring a particular property. Map information includes data such as the outline of each building, the size, shape, and construction materials, heights and function of structures, and location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house numbers. (ProQuest)
- Archival Resources of the Virginias (ARVAS) This link opens in a new windowSearch for information on archival materials housed in historical societies, libraries, museums, colleges, and universities across Virginia and West Virginia. The online finding aids help researchers discover primary source materials that document the history, culture, and people of these two states. (ARVAS)
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowCreate reports and maps based on US Census data and demographic information. Create an account on the site to save your maps. (Social Explorer)
- Richmond Times-Dispatch (1903-present) This link opens in a new windowSearch the complete archives of the Richmond Times-Dispatch from its inception in 1903. PDF scans are available from 1903-present and transcriptions of individual articles are available from 1985-present. (Newsbank/Readex)
Print Resources - Rare Book Room
A few of the items available to research in the Rare Book Room and Special Collections include student scrapbooks, student handbooks, presidential reports, photo histories, an printed memoirs and biographies of figures associated with the University of Richmond.
Materials in the Rare Book Room may be used by appointment.
Materials in Special Collections may be requested at the main information desk by filling out a form with title, author, and call number. These items may be checked out for up to 4 hours at a time, but they cannot leave the library or be kept overnight.
