Reference Books for Romanticism in Spain
Some of these links will take you to the catalog record for a book, from which you can determine its location (usually in the reference collection on the first floor).
- Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian PeninsulaCovers Portugal as well as Spain
- Spanish and Portuguese literatures and their times : the Iberian peninsulaVery good for getting social and historical background.
The works below are electronic encyclopedias or collections of encyclopedias.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on most aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present. (Oxford)
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on all genres of music and musicians (best for classical and jazz). The database does include dictionaries like The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, among others. (Oxford)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
Using the Library Catalog
To search for books in Boatwright, use the Library Catalog . When dealing with a topic that can be used in many fields it is best to add a second word that describes your area of interest, for example, "romanticism" and "poetry". Start with a keyword search and when you have found one or two relevant books, examine their subjects headings to help guide further searching, or use terms from the table of subject headings to the left. Remember that books are generally on broad topics and that you are not searching the full text, only the titles, subject headings, and--if you're lucky--the table of contents.
To search for books that are at other libraries, but not necessarily at UR use WorldCat, which includes books we can borrow for you if we don't have them.
To identify useful books by searching their full texts, use OneSearch and limit your search to book/ebook Content Type (in lefthand bar). Unlike the catalog, OneSearch can search the full-text of our electronic books.
Here are some subject headings you may find useful when search the library catalog:
- Spain - Civilization- 19th century
- Spain - History - 19th Century
- Spain - Politics and Government
- Spain - Social Life and Customs- 19th century
- Popular culture--Spain--History--19th century
- Romanticism--Spain
- Spanish literature--19th century--History and Criticism
- Spanish drama--19th century--History and Criticism
- Spanish poetry--19th century--History and criticsm
Of course, you can also use any of these terms in keyword searches.
Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
