Video Resources
Two databases for finding streaming video are linked below. Also, don't forget that you can limit your search in the library catalog to the "Video/DVD" format.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
- PBS Videos This link opens in a new windowStream videos originally broadcast on PBS, including several of Ken Burns' series such as American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others. (VIVA)
NGO Search
From Duke University Libraries, this search engine searches sites which were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).
Databases
Given the number of issues surrounding the idea of immigration and the state, resources can be found in a variety of discipline-specific resources.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, reports, and grey literature on topics related to the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. "PAIS" stands for "Public Affairs Information Service," and the content dates from the early 1900s-present. (ProQuest)
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks, journal articles, policy briefs, reports, and case studies on topics related to international politics and policy. The content is written by scholars, research institutes, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and think-tanks. (Columbia University Press)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to business. Also included is some financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. (EBSCO)
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in all fields of economics, including the American Economic Association journals, working papers, and many non-English full-text journals in economics and finance. (EBSCO)
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)
PolicyWatch Trial
We've just added a trial for this new database, which provides "immediate access to more than 385 think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups including Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank."
- PolicyWatch
Carrie Ludovico
