Biographies of more than 18,000 men and women whose lives helped shape the nation. Updated semi-annually, with new entries and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency.
Indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore
Literature, language, and folklore from all regions of the world from the late Middle Ages to the present. Covers books, articles, and dissertations. Best place to start for language and literature research.; Citations only; some links to full-text; 1926 - present
Biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works
Biographical sketches of over 130,000 authors and critical articles on over 2,000 authors from all times and places, and on their works. Includes essays from reference works, journals, and books. Content covers numerous centuries, mainly 20th and some 19th.; Full-text
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications. Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
In addition to the "Information on Authors & Works" resources listed above...
Full-text archives of six national papers of record and five historically Black papers.
Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Defender, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Atlanta Daily World, and Los Angeles Sentinel; Full-text; Dates vary with each newspaper.