Reference Books & Collections
- Cambridge Companions Online: Philosophy, Religion and Culture This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks for essays on famous philosophers and theologians, philosophical and religious movements, religious doctrines, philosophical tenets, and famous texts. (Cambridge)
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by Call Number: REF BS440 .A54 1992
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by Call Number: REF BS 440.N443 2006
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts by ISBN: 0199846510Publication Date: 2015-12-15The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts (OEBART) is an in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts.
The Oxford encyclopedia of the books of the BibleISBN: 0199755418
Oxford Encyclopedias of the Bible : Digital CollectionISBN: 0197669409
Searching for Books
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
Tips for Searching Books:
Books related to the Bible can be found by either keyword or subject searching -- note in the examples below the differences in results, depending on how you search.
Other useful terms - Concordance? or Commentar? or literature AND [Bible -- Book in Bible -- Person's name]
Jewish-Christian Relations: Search (judaism OR jew?) and christian?
* or ? are used to truncate a term -- the catalog and ATLA use *
- Bible (Keyword Search)Searching as a keyword for a general term, such as Bible isn't very helpful -- you want to be sure to add in related terms.
- Bible New Testament Romans (Subject Browse)Bible. Romans - new subject heading replacing N.T.
- Bible Old Testament Isaiah (Subject Browse)Bible. Isaiah - new subject heading replacing O.T.
Concordance or Commentary?
The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible, Supersaver by Call Number: BS425 .S8 2010ISBN: 1418542377Publication Date: 2010
A Concordance will help you trace a word -- or a word's usage throughout the Bible. You can also find a passage using keywords if you don't remember the location of the whole passage. Concordances help with primary source research as you are viewing a word or passage within its original context.
A Commentary provides context and analysis of words and passages-- through historical, cultural or other areas of scholarship. Commentaries are secondary sources to aid in interpretation of the text.
commentar? and [search term]
It may also be listed as Criticism, Interpretation, etc. as the subject
criticism interpretation [search term]
Hermeneia--a critical and historical commentary on the Bible.Call Number: REF BS491.2.H47
