Skip to main content

FYS 100 (36) - Bioethics: Finding Articles

Suggested databases for IDENTIFYING and often RETRIEVING articles

Specialized databases for IDENTIFYING and often RETRIEVING articles


UR provides access to many very specialized databases.  You may want to use other research guides to identify databases that index journal titles in other disciplines.  For example, if you are writing on Hitler and the Holocaust, you may want to check the History subject guide for databases that are specific to 20th century history.

You may want to check these specialized databases for very specific information:

LOCATING articles through Journal Titles / Journal Locator

 
The library's Journal Locator or Journal Titles (also accessed from the tab on the library home page) helps you to:

  • identify which journal titles are available at UR
  • identify which titles are in print or can be accessed as e-journals
  • access the e-journals through UR subscription links *
  • connect to the catalog to find "holdings" information for print titles (which volumes/years that UR owns)
  • find UR journals by subject  

               * Most UR subscriptions must be accessed through the Journal Locator links and not by going directly to the journal's website.  Most subscriptions are also verified by IP identification - you must access UR e-journals from the campus network or through the proxy server.

Some publishers "embargo" their most recent issues so that you may only be able to electronically access articles published 1-2 years earlier.

Using Interlibrary Loan


If you need a journal article from a journal title that UR does not own, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library.  Depending on how long it takes for the loaning library to fill the request, you may receive it within a few days but allow 1-2 weeks to be sure it arrives in time.  Most articles are provided as a .pdf and are emailed to you.  However, some titles are only available as print -- you will be emailed when the article is available and can then pick it up at the Information Desk at Boatwright's entrance.

Health Sciences Databases

The content for Medline is produced by the National Library of Medicine (of the National Institutes of Health).  Medline is distributed on several publishing platforms (e.g. Web of Science) or can be accessed by anyone at www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed as PubMed.