Online Constitutional Sources
These are the online versions (where available) of the books we used in class:
- The Founder's ConstitutionOnline version of the well known print source.
- The Framing of the Constitution of the United StatesDigital version the book published in 1913 that captures the process of the Constitutional Convention through primary documents.
- The Records of the Federal ConventionEbook of Farrand's 1911 edition.
- The Documentary History of the Ratification of the ConstitutionThis landmark work in historical and legal scholarship draws upon thousands of sources to trace the Constitutioǹ•'s progress through each of the thirteen states' conventions.
- The American Founding Era CollectionOnline collection of source documents on the US Constitution, including: The Documentary History of Ratification of the Constitution, Adams Papers, Hamilton Papers, Jefferson Papers, Madison Papers and Washington Papers.
- Avalon Project (Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and DiplomacyDigital collection includes sections on member's credentials, the constitutional convention, and ratification and forming the government.
- The Federalist PapersThe papers were meant to be influential in the campaign for the adoption of the Constitution by New York State. But the authors not only discussed the issues of the constitution, but also many general problems of politics.
- The Anti-Federalist PapersAlong with the Federalist Papers, the Anti-Federalist papers documented the political context in which the Constitution was born. The authors did not only discuss the issues of the constitution, many general problems of politics were also put under debate.
- The James Madison PapersOnline collection of more than 12,000 items from the James Madison Papers held at the Library of Congress.
- The Thomas Jefferson PapersOne of the largest collections of online documents concerning Thomas Jefferson, from the Library of Congress collection.
- Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774- 1789Digital collection of 277 documents relating to work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution (extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of Constitution, Declaration of Independence)
Major Constitutional Sources in Paper
These are the print books we used IN CLASS:
- The Founder's Constitution byCall Number: KF4502 .F68 1987 - OVERSIZEISBN: 0226463877Major resource containing original sources on the development of the US Constitution. Located in the Oversize area on B2.
- The framing of the Constitution of the United States byCall Number: JK146.F3A work pulling together the documents surrounding the initial debate and passage of the Constitutional Convention.
- The Complete Bill of Rights: the Drafts, Debates, Sources & Origins byCall Number: KF4744 1997 - REFERENCE (1st floor of Boatwright)This resource pulls together the various drafts of the Constitution as well as debates on proposals and resources capturing national and personal perspectives of the constitutional convention process.
- The Federalist concordance byCall Number: KF4515 .E53 1988An alphabetical list of every word listed within the Federalist.
- The Federalist (Cooke's Edition) byCall Number: JK154 1961bThe definitive edition of The Federalist used by concordances to note the specific page number a term is referenced.
- The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787 byCall Number: JK 141 1911 Vol 1-4
- Documentary History of the Ratification of the ConstitutionCall Number: JK146 .D63 1976
- The Complete Anti-FederalistCall Number: KF4515 .C65
And one more that Professor Pagan pointed out at the end of class:
The Framers' Coup by Call Number: KF4541 .K53 2016
Materials from Rare Book Room and Special Collections
- The History of the Virginia Federal Convention of 1788... byCall Number: F221 .V82 v.9 and v.10Publication Date: 1890Volumes 9 and 10 located in Galvin Rare Book Room (B1)
- Debates and other proceedings of the Convention of Virginia... byCall Number: JK161 .V8 1788Publication Date: 1805Located in Galvin Rare Book Room (B1) and also in the Law Library Special Collections
- The Papers of James Madison byCall Number: JK111 .M2Publication Date: 1840Located in Galvin Rare Book Room (B1)
- Journal, acts and proceedings of the Convention, assembled at Philadelphia... byCall Number: JK141 1819Publication Date: 1819Located in Galvin Rare Book Room (B1)
- The debates in the several state conventions on the adoption of the federal Constitution byCall Number: JK141 1836Publication Date: 1836Located in Galvin Rare Book Room (B1)
- Journal of the Federal Convention byCall Number: JK141 1893Publication Date: 1893Located in Special Collections - Request at Main Service Desk
- The Convention of 1788: An Address byCall Number: JK161 .V8 1908Publication Date: 1908Located in Special Collections - Request at Main Service Desk
- Secret Proceedings and debates of the Convention at Philadelphia, in the year 1787... byCall Number: JK141 1839Publication Date: 1839Located in Galvin Rare Book Room (B1)
- Documentary history of the Constitution of the United States of America... byCall Number: JK111 .A5Publication Date: 18945 volumes, located in Special Collections - request at Main Service Desk
