Information about what's in season in Virginia, where to find local farmer's markets and CSA's, and information about the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' marketing and outreach efforts.
Scholarly resources about the definition and history of CSA's, as well as statistical and survey information. Also links to information about sustainable and organic agriculture, eating seasonally and regionally, farm-to-school and farmer's markets. Links to the National Agricultural Library's collection.
Curious to know how much food and other neccessities of life cost in different metro regions of the United States? The Council for Community and Economic Research puts together a quarterly index, available in print in the library's reference collection. The index gives comparative data for 308 Urban Areas, divided into two sections: "Urban Area Index Data", which gives the composite data within each metropolitan area, and the "Average Prices", which compares actual prices (excluding taxes) for items such as canola oil, apartment rent, phone service and dentist within those same metro areas.
Use the following phrases or keywords to search these databases for more information about eating locally:
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications. Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Provides comprehensive city, regional and state news, primarily for Richmond, Virginia, from Aug 19, 1985 to the present.
Full-text, abstracts, and citations; 1985 - present; Additional Information: Special attention is given to Virginia's tobacco and agriculture industries, as well as numerous large companies such as the CSX Corporation, Bank of Virginia and James River Corporation. Richmond's employment base extends from chemical, food and tobacco manufacturing to biotechnology, semiconductors and high-tech fibers.