Country Information
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new windowAccess reports on each of the world’s countries, with a focus on the political and economic situation as well as demographic, cultural and environmental news and information. (CountryWatch)
- Countries & Their CulturesProvides excellent overviews of a country's culture describing the same categories for every country in the world.
- World FactbookBrief profile and statistics of every country in the world collected by the CIA.
- Country StudiesIn-depth analysis of of the historical, social, political and governmental institutions and systems of countries throughout the world.
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new windowAccess key business intelligence on countries, markets, and companies. This database provides historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. (Euromonitor International)
Finding articles in Spanish or on LAIS subjects
All of these databases cover some of the many topics that are of interest to LAIS students and scholars. Some focus on literature, some on history, some on business or social issues. Some are multidisciplinary. Keep in mind that you should also check the pages for related subjects, such as ART if you are stuydying a Latin American artist or architect, or POLITICAL SCIENCE if you are studying a Latin American revolution.
Remember that if the full text of an article you want to read is not available in the database you are searching, you should use Journal Locator to learn whether we have access and by what means (another database, the publisher's web site, or the print collection in Boatwright).
If you need articles in Spanish, look for the "language" option in the search drop down boxes or use the Language box in the search limits area of the search page.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Fuente Académica This link opens in a new windowSearch Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals covering all major subject areas in humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess news and company reports, stock quotes, and market information from Dow Jones and Reuters. This database has extensive international news coverage. (Dow Jones)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to business. Also included is some financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. (EBSCO)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. (ProQuest)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on history, culture, peoples, and societies of Latin American and the Caribbean. Documents include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and ephemera. (Gale)
Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
