Skip to main content

ELECTRONIC BOOKS: Academic E-books in UR Libraries

Electronic Reference Books

These works are all in the catalog; some are collections and some are individual publications. In order to search the text, you must access the individual item.

E-books Collections: Category 2

Items in these collections are included in the library catalog like other books, with links to the electronic text, but you must access the e-book or the e-book database to search the texts themselves.

Ebook Collections: Category 3

The full content of these collections are searchable from their own pages, but the titles are not included in the catalog.

Downloading e-books from the Ebsco E-book collection

Downloading books to read offline: Checkouts are for 1-7 days. The book will not “disappear” from your reader after that time, but will not open. You must delete it to remove it from your Adobe reader.

On your computer: -Setup and login to your EbscoHost account
-Setup and login to your Adobe account. -
Download (offline) link is available for the books you are able to download.
-Download the book you want to view offline to your desktop.
-Open the Adobe software, click on “Library” at the top, then “Add item to Library.”
-Drag the title from your desktop to the Adobe digital manager.


On your iPad: -Setup and login to your EbscoHost account
-Setup and login to your Adobe account.
-Download the Bluefire reader (available from iTunes).
-Download the book you want to view.
- The file will download directly to the Bluefire reader and does not need to be dragged from the desktop.

Returning an E-book

You can return an e-book downloaded from Ebsco or Ebrary  before the check-out period has expired, but it is done through Adobe Digital Editions.

 For Ebsco, from the Library view in Adobe, right click on the cover of the book you want to return.  Click on “item info” in the drop down box.  On the next screen there will be a “Return” button.

Ebrary is simpler.  Right click on the title page in the Library view.  One of the choices in the box will be "Return borrowed item."

Tutorials for Ebsco and Ebrary