Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Recommended Journals
- Health AffairsA journal focused on the effectiveness of health policy and health care throughout the US.
- Journal of Health Politics, Policy & LawThe major interdisciplinary journal regarding health care at the national and international levels.
- Modern HealthcareAn industry publication for healthcare business and policy news, research, and information.
- New England Journal of MedicineA widely read and cited journal for general medical topics.
Public Opinion on Health Care
- Kaiser Pollspublic opinion polls related to health issues done by the Kaiser Family Foundation.
- iPOLL This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of public opinion polls from US and international polling firms since 1935 on topics such as social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and more. Note: You must create an account to download the datasets. (Cornell University)
Overview Resources on US Health Care
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
- CQ Magazine This link opens in a new windowAccess articles from a magazine that delivers nonpartisan news and analysis on the work of Congress. This database contains content from 1983-present. (Sage)
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health CareThis resource provides data and maps of the variations in health care distribution within the United States.
- National Journal Group's Policy Central This link opens in a new windowAccess in-depth analysis of US politics, government policy, the economy, and campaigns. This database includes publications such as The National Journal, The Hotline, and the Almanac of American Politics. It also includes polls of the public and political insiders. (National Journal Group)
- New York Times -Health Care ReformProvides an overview of US health care as well as the latest developments of health care related politics and legislation.
- PBS Newshour - Health NewsCoverage of current health care policy and health related news in the US.
Health Care Focused Organizations
- Kaiser Family FoundationIndependent philanthropic foundation dedicated to health care policy research and reform.
- Robert Wood Johnson FoundationOne of the major non-profits in the US focused on public health and and health care in the US. Note underneath that “Topics” section is especially useful.
- Brookings Institution - Health CareInfluential non-profit providing research and policy recommendations on a variety of topics, including health care.
- Commonwealth FundPrivate foundation studying health care in the US, particularly focusing on improved access and efficiency as well as comparing the US system with other industrialized countries.
- American Enterprise Institute - Health Policy StudiesRight-of-center research institute providing news, research, and reform proposals related to a wide range of domestic policies, including health policy.
- Urban InstituteNon-partisan think tank, generally considered left of center, providing information on wide range of public policy topics including health care policies, particularly those targeted to the working poor.
- Alliance For Health ReformNon-partisan advocacy organization focused on health care reform. Doesn't support a particular approach rather provides information about current status of the health care system.
- Center on Budget and Policy Priorities - Health pageContains information on public policies dealing with welfare/poverty, Social Security, health care and budget. Focused on providing health coverage for children, people with disabilities, and the elderly.
- CATO Institute - Health CareProvides policy analyses advocating domestic policy reforms consistent with a libertarian philosophy, including health care reform.
Government Information on Healthcare Policy
- Health Reform in ActionObama Administration website explaining the recent healthcare reform.
- HealthCare.govHealth & Human Services website explaining new healthcare laws.
- Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor & PensionsWebsite for the major Senate committee focused on healthcare policy.
- Healthcare - House Committee on Education & the WorkforceIssues reviewed by the Committee on Education & the Workforce regarding health care.
- "The Exam Room" - House Committee on Energy & CommerceIssues reviewed by the Committee on Energy & Commerce regarding health care policy.
- House Committee on Ways & Means, Subcommittee on HealthCommittee focused on healthcare costs and payments.
Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian
Carol Wittig
she/her
Contact:
FYS and SPCS KM - ENG Instructor
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
Boatwright Library
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
Boatwright Library
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
804.289.8459
Website
