Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Public Opinion Resources
Find data regarding the public's attitude toward social issues, policies, and politicians.
- iPOLL This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of public opinion polls from US and international polling firms since 1935 on topics such as social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and more. Note: You must create an account to download the datasets. (Cornell University)
- Pew Research International AffairsProvides access to world-wide public opinion polls regarding important issues of the day.
Government Information
Government information resources provide in-depth descriptions of policies and decision-making,with some focus on the financial aspects.
- USA.govOfficial web portal of the US government, searching federal, state, local and tribal government websites.
- Congress.gov - Legislative Information from the Library of CongressGovernment database of the bills, documents, activities and votes of the U.S. Congress, with full text of legislation from 1993 - present. (Congress.gov replaced THOMAS in September 2014).
- CQ Magazine This link opens in a new windowAccess articles from a magazine that delivers nonpartisan news and analysis on the work of Congress. This database contains content from 1983-present. (Sage)
UR Student Example
What is a Persuasive Presentation?
A persuasive presentation is a speech urging action to solve a problem. The speaker must persuade the audience to make a specific decision that evidently supports the greater good.
This speech requires use of extensive evidence to demonstrate to the audience why the advocated solution is the best one.
Choosing a Topic
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
- UR Library CatalogLocate introductory and research level resources on your topic
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
Policy Research Resources
These resources focus on the outcomes of implemented policies and arguments for changes in policies.
- UR Library CatalogLocate introductory and research level resources on your topic
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, reports, and grey literature on topics related to the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. "PAIS" stands for "Public Affairs Information Service," and the content dates from the early 1900s-present. (ProQuest)
Speech Examples
- C-Span.orgProvides video access of the US political process, including speeches over policy from the executive and legislative branches.
Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
