Skip to main content

CLASSICAL STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE: Downloading Academic E-books

Resources for the study of Latin, Greek, and classical literatures and culture.

ebooks

E-book vendor/platform   

Can I download these E-books to mobile devices or for viewing offline?

Printing & copying limits

Ebrary*

*You must first create a free eBrary account and be signed in order to download a book or chapter using the Download button underneath each book.

2 Downloading options:

Option 1: Download an entire E-book using Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) (not available for Kindles) for 14 days, if and when this option is available.  You must first create a free eBrary account and be signed in to download a book or chapter using the Download button underneath each book. You can download up to 10 E-books at a time.

Option 2: Download chapters or up to 60 pages of any Ebrary E-book by creating a PDF file. These files will not expire and PDF files can be viewed on most mobile devices, including Kindles.  Overview of Ebrary downloading options

Up to 60 pages of an E-book can be printed out, copied or downloaded as a PDF file that will not expire duiring each session.

E-books on Ebsco**

 

**You will be prompted to login to download a book or chapter. This is a free/personal EBSCOhost account and you can use any username/password. 

Yes, you can download EBSCO E-books for up to 7 days at a time, but you must first set up a free My EBSCOhost account. You can then download an entire E-book using Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) (not available for on Kindles) for up to 7 days.

Be advised that many of the E-books purchased from EBSCOhost only allow one user at a time to view, checkout or download them. If a single-user e-book has been checked out by someone else you will get a message that states: "Sorry, this eBook is in use."

After you check-out and download your eBook:

  • You can transfer the E-book to your Adobe Digital Editions-compatible mobile device.

Up to 60 pages of an E-book can be printed or saved per user as a PDF file.

Safari Technical Books Online

No, these titles cannot be downloaded; they must be read on devices connected to the Internet.

You can print one page at a time

Oxford Scholarship Online

2 subject collections:
Philosophy
Religion

You can download an individual chapter from each Oxford Scholarship Online title, or up to 5% of the pages of any title, whichever is the greater.

Same limits as downloading

ACLS Humanities E-Books

The American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) e-books cannot be downloaded. You must view them on a device connected to the Internet. 

For best printing results see Viewing Options and choose “Page pdf.”  

Loading

Using E-Books

Use the dropdown box below to learn more about how to use some of the e-book collections supplied by the University of Richmond Libraries.

 

EBSCOhost logoEBSCOhost E-Books
formerlyNetLibrary
Full-text electronic books on subjects such as history, languages, sociology, economics, computer science, psychology and religion.

Loan Period 1 week
Simultaneous User Limit   

Varies by title

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes, with specific devices

File Format(s) Used PDF (Adobe Digital Editions)
Additional Requirements
  • Free EBSCOhost account to download book for offline use
  • Free Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher to download book for offline use
How do I get help?

 
To download an E-Book:

  1. Install and activate Adobe Digital Editions:
    1. Download Adobe Digital Editions.
    2. Follow the instructions for installation on your computer.
    3. Activate Adobe Digital Editions.
  2. Click the Download (Offline) link for the e-book you would like to download.
  3. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button. The e-book will be added to the Checkouts area of the folder. If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost account, you will be prompted to do so (requires a free, personal EBSCOhost account).
  4. Select Open with or Save File from the resulting dialog box. If you select Open with, your e-book will be opened with Adobe Digital Editions (requires free Adobe Digital Editions software). If you select Save File, the e-book will be saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe Digital Editions at a later time.
  5. When a downloaded e-book is opened, it is displayed in Adobe Digital Editions.

To check-out an E-Book with the option to download it later:

  1. Click the Download (Offline) link for the e-book you would like to download.
  2. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button. The e-book will be added to the Checkouts area of the folder. If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost account, you will be prompted to do so (requires a free, personal EBSCOhost account).
  3. Select Cancel from the resulting dialog box. The e-book has been added to the Checkouts area of the folder and can be downloaded at a later time.

After you check-out and download your E-Book:

 

Directory of Open Access Books logoDirectory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Collection of Open Access ebooks covering a wide range of topics in the humanities and social sciences. These books are made available through a collaborative initiative of the OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks).

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. From the search results list, click the Free access link. The PDF will download to your computer.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.
 

ebrary logoebrary
ebrary offers access to individual ebooks on various subject matter.

 

Loan Period 14 days
Simultaneous User Limit   

Varies by Title
[if all copies are limited, a pop-up window will ask if you would like to be notified when the materials are available]

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes, with specific devices

File Format(s) Used PDF (Adobe Digital Editions)
Additional Requirements
  • Free Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher to download book for offline use
How do I get help?

 

To download an E-Book:

    1. Download Adobe Digital Editions.
    2. Follow the instructions for installation on your computer.
    3. Activate Adobe Digital Editions.
  1. Click the Download button in the search results or QuickView. You may be prompted to sign in.
  2. Select the option to Download the entire document.
  3. Click OK.
  4. Choose whether to Open with Adobe Digital Editions or Save file to open later.
  5. Click OK.

After you download your E-Book:

 

Ebook Library (EBL) logoEbook Library (EBL)
EBL offers access to individual ebooks on various subject matter.

 

Loan Period 1 - 7 days (user selects)
Simultaneous User Limit   

Unlimited simultaneous users

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes, with specific devices

File Format(s) Used PDF (Adobe Digital Editions)
Additional Requirements
  • Free Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher to download book for offline use
How do I get help?
  • Check the e-book collection's help documentation.
  • Ask for help.

 

To download an E-Book:

    1. Download Adobe Digital Editions.
    2. Follow the instructions for installation on your computer.
    3. Activate Adobe Digital Editions.
  1. Click the orange Download button.
  2. Select your desired loan (checkout) period (1-7 days).
  3. Click the smaller, blue Download button.
  4. If you select Open with, your e-book will be opened with Adobe Digital Editions (requires free Adobe Digital Editions software). If you select Save File, the e-book will be saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe Digital Editions at a later time.
  5. When a downloaded e-book is opened, it is displayed in Adobe Digital Editions.

After you check-out and download your E-Book:

 

GVRL logoGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Provides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Includes Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History;Encyclopaedia Judaica;Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy;Encyclopedia of American Industries;Encyclopedia of American Religions;Encyclopedia of Bioethics;Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security;Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology;Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World;Encyclopedia of Population;Encyclopedia of Religion;Encyclopedia of Sociology;Encyclopedia of the American Constitution;Environmental Encyclopedia;Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America;Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology;New Catholic Encyclopedia;New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume;New Dictionary of the History of Ideas;St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture;and West's Encyclopedia of American Law.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the item record for the book (the page specific to the book), click on the PDF link at the upper right-hand corner of the page.
  2. Look for the "Article Tools"drop-down menu above the page image. Select the Download link.
  3. Download the desired file to your computer or device.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.
 

OECD iLibrary logoOECD iLibrary
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the item record for the book (the page specific to the book), look for the PDF links in the center to the right of the cover image.
  2. Download the desired file to your computer or device.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.
 

Safari Tech Books Online logoSafari Tech Books Online
An electronic collection of over 15,000 computer-related technical books. Topics range from desktop application software to network engineering, and from application to theory. Publishers included are Reilly, Sams, Peachpit Press, New Riders, Microsoft Press, Cisco Press, Adobe Press, Addison-Wesley and others. 

Loan Period 14 days
Simultaneous User Limit   

10 users

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

No

File Format(s) Used Adobe Flash
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  • E-Books cannot be downloaded to your computer or another device. They must be read on the Safari Tech Books website.
  • Printing is limited to individual pages.

Downloading Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe Digital Editions: Installing and Using

Get Adobe Digital Editions

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

Many of our e-book packages require Adobe Digital Editions (ADE), a free extension to Adobe Acrobat Reader. To install and use ADE, follow these steps:

  1. Download Acrobat Reader, if not already installed.
  2. Download Adobe Digital Editions from Adobe's website.
  3. Create an Adobe ID and authorize your copy of ADE (optional)

ADE is pre-installed on Library computers.

An Adobe ID is not necessary to read e-books, but if you are using ADE on your personal computer (not a Library or public computer), Adobe recommends authorizing ADE with an Adobe ID. Your Adobe ID is free and completely separate from your NetID or other GU accounts.

Help with Adobe Digital Editions