Welcome
Welcome to the Languages and Literatures Resource guide to information about dictionaries of language, literary terms, and authors. I've also included suggestions for finding literary criticism and primary works of literature. For more detailed suggestions, please check the Resource Guides to Modern Cultures and Literatures, Italian, Latin American and Iberian Studies, English, and Classical Studies. I hope this is helpful and if you need assistance please don't hesitate to contact me.
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Electronic Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- Merriam-Webster's American DictionaryAlso has a thesaurus and a Spanish-English dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowLook up the meaning of words in this updated, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. It's particularly useful when researching the etymology of a word. (Oxford)
- LEOMultilingual German dictionaries
- Deutsche Wörterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm GrimmThis dictionary was the first major attempt to unify and standardize the German language after Martin Luther's translation of the Bible.
Bilingual Dictionaries
You can find dictionaries for use in the library in the reference collection on the first floor. Some dictionaries are also available for checkout in the circulating collection on B2. Here are the call number ranges if you want to browse
English PE 1628
French PC 2640
Italian PC 1625
Spanish PC 4640
German PF 3625
Chinese PL 1455
Japanese PL 678
Greek PA 445
Latin PA 2365
Arabic PJ 6640
Persian PK 6379
Russian PG 2640
Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
