Skip to main content

CHEMISTRY RESEARCH GUIDE: Databases

Managing your citations


The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Information, 3rd ed. is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit a scholarly manuscript in chemistry.  The 3rd edition provides invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author.

The complete online version is now available.

REF QD8.5 .A25 2006  (also available in the Reading Room, Gottwald)

 ______________________________

RefWorks is a web-based tool that allows you to easily collect and organize citations, format papers, and create bibliographies.   You are able to "export" your references directly from databases and then convert them into Chicago, APA, or MLA citation style.  You are also able to choose a chemistry journal as your "output style."

Go to the research guide on Citing Sources to learn how to register for RefWorks or click on the logo if you are already a user.

Library databases for chemistry


Use online databases to locate references to journal articles, book chapters, books, and more.  Most online databases provide abstracts but many will also link you to full-text resources.  Use Journal Titles /Journal Locator to determine which journal titles you may access at UR.

SciFinder Scholar is the world's largest and most comprehensive database of chemical information.  Instructions for first-time users of SciFinder Scholar can be found in a box below.

SciFinder Scholar: First-time users

The electronic version of Chemical Abstracts is available to the UR community through SciFinder Scholar - a research tool used to locate and process information on a wide variety of chemistry-related topics. Using Scholar, you may perform substructure and patent searches, follow hyperlinked sources, access many full-text sources, and also search Medline.

In order to access SciFinder Scholar, you will need to register first. Please contact Melanie Hillner if you have any questions about this process. Additional browser-related information is available in the SciFinder FAQ from the SciFinder help files.

Please remember:

  • Do not share your login ID or password with any other individual or organization.
  • Do not post a login ID or password on any website or blog.
  • Ensure your password is established using best practices: the password must contain a minimum of 7 and a maximum of 15 characters, including at least three (3) of the following: letters, mixed upper- and lowercase letters, numbers, non-alphanumeric characters (e.g., @, #, %, &, *). 
  • Maintain the physical security of your password and your computer.
  • Change your password every 3 months.