Skip to main content
Search this Guide
SUSTAINABILITY: Background Information
A collection of resources on sustainability, especially in higher education.
Books & Articles
Case Studies/Example Projects
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)
Covers the areas of sustainability, policy, and environmental studies with background and primary source information and linked scholarly content from the web.
Case studies, academic journals, news, and videos; 1980 - present
Deirdre S. Blanchfield
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Paul Robbins (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-08-27
Provides issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability
3 volumes: Environment and Ecology; Business and Economics; Equity and Fairness.
Environmental Leadership: A Reference Handbook
Covers issues relevant to leadership in the realm of the environment and sustainability.
Green Business: An A-to-Z Guide
Provides an overview of key principles, approaches, strategies, and tools that businesses have used to reduce environmental impacts and contribute to sustainability.
Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide
Provides an overview of the key concepts that urban planners, policy makers, architects, engineers, and developers use to understand the sustainability dimensions of the urban environment.
Green Consumerism: An A-to-Z Guide
Offers a wide-ranging examination of green consumerism reflecting the diversity of views and debates surrounding the concept.
Green Energy: An A-to-Z Guide
Provides an overview of the social and environmental dimensions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technologies that can help shape a green-energy economy.
Green Food: An A-to-Z Guide
Provides people interested in food and agricultural systems the basic analytical and conceptual ideas that explain why our food system looks the way it does, and what can be done to change it for the better.
Green Politics: An A-to-Z Guide
Covers the availability and distribution of such resources as energy and how they impact economic development, domestic politics, and international cooperation and conflict.
Social Sciences Librarian
Office: 182 Boatwright Library,
Research & Collaborative Area
Office/On-Call Hours (Fall 2018):
Wednesdays 3-6, and by appointment
Statistics, Polls, and Data
Books & Articles >>
Mar 30, 2018 4:58 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.