Reference Materials - Online
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowWatch both documentaries about historical events in American history, as well as newsreels and other footage shot as events were happening. (Alexander Street Press)
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks (often spanning multiple volumes) that provide both a broad and deep overview of historical eras and ideas. (Cambridge)
- Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowAccess biographies of people who shaped British history and culture. Note: Only one user at a time may access this database. (Oxford)
- eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- PBS Videos This link opens in a new windowStream videos originally broadcast on PBS, including several of Ken Burns' series such as American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others. (VIVA)
Reference Materials - Print
Listed below are just a few of the many excellent reference books available in print form in the Boatwright Library. To find more items, search the catalog using "Boatwright Reference" in the location field.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by ISBN: 0028658167Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual HistoryISBN: 0684805618Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Think Like A Historian
Very Short Introductions
International Migration by Call Number: JV6035 .K67 2016ISBN: 9780198753773Publication Date: 2016-07-01
Finding Materials in Boatwright Library
OneSearch on the library homepage is a great way to start your research. After entering a search term, you will see results that include articles, books, electronic books and resources, and newspaper articles. Options on the left side will help you refine your results via several different parameters, including type, subject, location, and date. However, you might want to try other, more specific, search options as well.
To search for books that are available here in Boatwright, use the Library Catalog tab. Start with a keyword search or "all words" using terms such as capitalism or Adam Smith. When you have found one or two relevant books, examine their subjects headings to help guide further searching. You can also add descriptive terms such as "politics and government" or "social aspects" or for more specific searching.
If you are looking for information on a person, you should first use that person's name in a keyword search. However, many books will have information on persons that is not evident from the information in the catalog. To find these books, you should use the browsing guide on the left and scan the tables of contents and indexes of books in the appropriate call number area.
If you are looking for secondary articles, you should start in one of our databases like JSTOR, or --especially for history research topics-- America: History & Life. Use keyword searching to find articles and be sure to utilize the many options available for limited your search if the amount of results is too large.
If you are looking for Primary Sources, try including the word "source" or "sources" in your keyword or subject search to get better results. For Newspaper or Article information, see that LibGuide tab for more information.
You can search by book Title, Author, All words or Subject heading.
Some subject headings to try include:
Capitalism
Socialism
Capitalism--Social aspects--United States
Economic history
