Primary Source Materials - Print
To search the Library Catalog for primary source materials, try adding one of the following subheadings to your search term or topic: diaries, personal narratives, documents, sources, letters, correspondence, oral history, pamphlets, interviews, speeches, or autobiography. For example: civil rights and diaries.
Don't forget to explore the historical newspaper archive databases on the front page of this guide!
Primary Source Materials
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowAccess over 50 archival collections on a variety of topics, including FBI surveillance, law, literature, film, and civil rights. (Gale)
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on the role of women in movements throughout American history. Documents include publications by State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women (1963-2000), writings of hundreds of black women suffragists (1830-1960), proceedings of the National Women's Anti-Slavery Conventions in the 1830s, publications of the League of Women Voters (1920-2000), and more. (Alexander Street Press)
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowWatch both documentaries about historical events in American history, as well as newsreels and other footage shot as events were happening. (Alexander Street Press)
- AM Explorer: Americana This link opens in a new windowSearch a broad collection of primary source documents and papers from American history and popular culture. Includes the databases: American History, 1493-1945; American Indian Histories; American West; Everyday Life and Women in America, c. 1800-1920; Popular Culture, 1950-1975; Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice; and Virginia Company Archives. (AM)
