Business Librarian
Carrie Ludovico
Contact:
Business Librarian
(804) 287-6647
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Citing Sources, Copyright & Fair Use, Data & Statistics, Economics, First Year Seminar, Human Resources Management, International Business, Management, Marketing, Nonprofit Studies, Open Access & Faculty Scholarship, OSHER, PPEL, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Richmond Area , Scholarly Publications, Special Topics
Historical Company Information
- Historical Annual Reports (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAccess annual reports from US companies dating from 1844-2008. Find information on financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends. (ProQuest)
Company Information Databases
These databases prioritize information on public companies; if you are looking for information on a private company, scroll down the page to the box with private company database links.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowAccess public and private company information (both US and foreign). This database includes executive contacts, news, SWOT reports, analyst reports and industry reports. Build company lists, research executives and explore triggers for various corporate events. (LSEG - Dun & Bradstreet)
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this database for company information, such as financial statement data, annual reports, histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and more. Also includes access to Mergent BondViewer via the "Bond search" tab. (LSEG - Mergent)
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowAccess a broad spectrum of industry, company, and investment analysis. The database includes S&P industry surveys and stock reports (S&P equity research) where you can drill down to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, and more. (S&P Global)
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowChoose "Company Reports" on the left-hand navigation bar to limit your search.
- ReferenceUSA International Businesses This link opens in a new windowAccess in-depth profiles of businesses from around the world. (Data Axle, Inc.)
- Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new windowAccess reports and analysis of stocks and mutual funds. This database evaluates and ranks the most investable stocks individually and by industry, as well as provides investment advice on the New York Stock Exchange. (Value Line)
- Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new windowAccess data and research reports for US stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs. Note: Only 5 users may access this database at the same time. (Morningstar, Inc.)
- Statista Company DossiersInformation on all top companies in all major industries and regions with detailed company overviews and rankings, including revenue, number of employees, company value, stock price, and major competitors.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowClick "Reports" then "Toplists" to see all top companies in a given industry or region.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowClick "Company Information" at the top of the page, then enter the name of the company you are looking for and click "Search".
Private Company Information
While several of the databases above (D&B Hoovers, S&P and Mergent) will have some information on private companies, the databases listed in this box specialize in that kind of information.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowFind data on non-publicly-traded corporations. Note: Click the "Direct Access" link to access the database. Create an account to save your searches. (PrivCo)
- Million Dollar Directory (MDDI) (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new windowSearch for information on privately held and public companies and their executives. The content dates from 1959-present. (LSEG - Mergent)
- ReferenceUSA International Businesses This link opens in a new windowAccess in-depth profiles of businesses from around the world. (Data Axle, Inc.)
Other Resources for Company Information
- BizMiner Academic This link opens in a new windowSearch this database for industry financial analysis and marketing research reports by industry and size. It provides startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share; failure rates; entrepreneurial activity rates; startup P&L detail and ratios; and detailed small business balance sheets, P&L and ratios. (BizMiner)
- Best's Library Center This link opens in a new windowFind data for U.S. and Canadian life/health and property/casualty insurance companies, including key financial indicators; assets and liabilities; Best's rating and analysis and current and historical credit reports. Includes Best's Life & Health and Property & Casualty publications. (A.M. Best)
"The SEC’s EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval) database provides free public access to corporate information. The system allows you to research a company’s activities, registration statements, prospectuses, and periodic reports, which include financial statements. EDGAR also provides access to correspondence about corporate filings reviewed by the SEC staff since August 1, 2004."
Ratios and Analytics
- Mergent Company Analytics This link opens in a new windowAccess charts and graphs with numerous equity analytics, such as activity ratios, business segment data, leverage and coverage, price and return, revenue and EPS, and profitability. (LSEG - Mergent)
- Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new windowSearch for industry ratios and norms for over 800 industries on public and private companies. Search on on SIC and NAICs code and line of business, and download and create reports. (LSEG - Dun & Bradstreet)
