Subject and Course Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | W

A
ACCOUNTING 320 -- ACCOUNTING RESEARCH
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Jan 11, 2011

ACCOUNTING RESEARCH GUIDE
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Aug 3, 2009


ANTHROPOLOGY RESEARCH GUIDE
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012

ART RESEARCH GUIDE
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012
Start here for research help with art, photography, art history or any other art-related topic. Recommended databases are included, as well as information on how to contact the Art Librarian is also here.

AUDIO RESOURCE GUIDE
by Linda Fairtile - Last Updated Feb 2, 2011
This guide provides links to streaming audio, free and legal downloads, and other audio resources.

B
BIOGRAPHY RESEARCH GUIDE
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Aug 17, 2010
Biographical information resources from Boatwright Library.

BIOLOGY RESEARCH GUIDE
by Melanie Hillner - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012

BOOK REVIEWS RESEARCH GUIDE
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Sep 28, 2011


BUSINESS RESEARCH GUIDE
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Aug 3, 2009

C
CHEMISTRY RESEARCH GUIDE
by Melanie Hillner - Last Updated Mar 11, 2012


CITING SOURCES RESEARCH GUIDE
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Feb 3, 2012
This guide provides information on citing your sources in some of the most commonly used citation formats: APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian.

CLASSICAL STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Apr 11, 2012
Resources for the study of Latin, Greek, and classical literatures and culture.


COMPUTER SCIENCE RESEARCH GUIDE
by Melanie Hillner - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012

CRIMINAL JUSTICE RESEARCH GUIDE
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Nov 17, 2011

CULTURAL CONNECTIONS
by Linda Fairtile - Last Updated Apr 5, 2012

D
DANCE SUBJECT GUIDE
by Linda Fairtile - Last Updated Aug 19, 2011
Find information about dance and dance research.

E
ECONOMICS RESEARCH GUIDE
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Aug 3, 2011


Educ 318U/518U - Diverse Learners
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012

EDUCATION RESEARCH GUIDE
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Nov 17, 2011

ELECTRONIC BOOKS
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012


English 100 Berry
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011


ENGLISH 238: Selected Readings in Caribbean Literature
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Jan 6, 2011
Course guide for Prof. Dance's class prepared by Marcia Whitehead.





ENGLISH 400-1:Women and Creativity
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Apr 20, 2012
Course guide prepared by Marcia Whitehead for Prof. Suzanne Jones


ENTREPRENEURSHIP RESEARCH GUIDE
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Aug 3, 2011


F
Faculty Work-Life Balance
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Feb 21, 2011

FILM STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE
by Paul Porterfield - Last Updated Jan 20, 2012
This guide outlines books, article databases and other sources to aid students and faculty researching a topic in Film Studies.

FINANCE RESEARCH GUIDE
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Aug 3, 2011

FYS 100 (02) Framing the U.S. Constitution
by Jim Gwin, Laura Horne-Popp - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
This guide is for the students of Prof. John Pagan



FYS 100 (07) - Space is Big
by Melanie Hillner - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012

FYS 100 (08) - Freeing Richmond
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
This research guide is for the students of Dr. Edward Ayers' and Dr. Scott Nesbit's First Year Seminar.




FYS 100 (13): Tower of Song
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Jan 20, 2012
Research Guide for the students of Prof. Schwartz

FYS 100 (14): Waiting for God
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Feb 3, 2012


FYS 100 (17) Twice-Told Tales
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Mar 23, 2012


FYS 100 (19) - From Comedy to Cannibalism
by Linda Fairtile - Last Updated Jan 5, 2012
Course guide for Dr. Anderson's First-Year Seminar

FYS 100 (20) - Great Performances
by Linda Fairtile - Last Updated Jan 5, 2012
Course guide for Dr. Cable's First Year Seminar

FYS 100 (21) - Gods, Gold, and Greed: Wagner's Ring
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Mar 28, 2012
Course guide for Linda Fairtile's First Year Seminar





FYS 100 (27) Coming of Age
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Mar 14, 2012
A FYS LibGuide prepared for Professor Addiss' Spring 2012 class.

FYS 100 (28) Contemplative Tradition in Art (Rhodes)
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Feb 23, 2012
FYS LibGuide for Professor Rhodes' Spring 2012 class.

FYS 100 (29) Telling the Past
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
This guide is for the students of Dr. Joanna Drell's First Year Seminar Class.

FYS 100 (30) America by the Decades: the 1950's
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
For the students in Dr. Mark McGarvie's FYS 100 class.

FYS 100 (31, 32) Contested Terrain: U.S.-Mexico Borderlands
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated Jan 22, 2012
This guide is for the students in Dr. Meyer's First Year Seminar.



FYS 100 (39/40): Global Consumer Culture & New Media
by Lit Maxwell, Laura Horne-Popp - Last Updated Jan 19, 2012
Course guide for Dana Lascu's First Year Seminar.


FYS 100 (42) - Old People
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012


FYS 100 (44) Abortion & Contraception
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012
A LibGuide for Professor Davis' FYS 100 - Spring 2012.

FYS 100 (45/46): Spirit and Soul of American Economic History
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Feb 17, 2012
Research Guide for Dr. Erik Craft's First Year Seminar.



FYS 100 (49-50): Puzzles & Paradoxes
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Mar 14, 2012
FYS Guide for Professor Goddu's Spring 2012 class.


G


GEOG 250 - Physical Geography
by Melanie Hillner - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012


GEOGRAPHY RESEARCH GUIDE
by Melanie Hillner - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012

Getting Started with Library Research
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Jan 17, 2012

Getting the Most Out of Google
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Apr 3, 2012
Learn about the many specialized searches available within Google, and how they relate to Boatwright Library.


GOVERNMENT INFORMATION RESEARCH GUIDE
by Laura Horne-Popp - Last Updated Feb 15, 2012
Find information from federal, state, local & international government

H
Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide
by Lucretia McCulley - Last Updated Sep 28, 2011
Provides suggestions and resources for researching various problems (honor killings, women's rights, violence, etc.)

HIGHER EDUCATION RESEARCH GUIDE
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Nov 16, 2011
Guide for students, staff, and faculty researching issues in higher education.


History 199 - Tobacco (Sackley)
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated Sep 7, 2011
This research guide is for the students of Dr. Nicole Sackley's History 199 class.


History 199 : The Crusades (Drell)
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated Sep 14, 2011




HISTORY RESEARCH GUIDE
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated Apr 3, 2012
Includes library research materials (books, online research databases, websites, journals, and media) in studying history.


Human Resource Management
by Carrie Ludovico - Last Updated Apr 6, 2012

I
IMAGE RESEARCH GUIDE
by Jeannine Keefer - Last Updated May 9, 2012
This guide will provide information for searching for, sharing, presenting and managing images.

INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS RESEARCH GUIDE
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011



ITALIAN STUDIES SUBJECT GUIDE
by Linda Fairtile - Last Updated Feb 23, 2011
Resources for Italian language, literature, and culture

J
JOURNALISM RESEARCH GUIDE
by Paul Porterfield - Last Updated Sep 7, 2010
This guide outlines books, article databases and other sources to aid students and faculty researching a topic in Journalism.

L


LAIS 306: Spanish in Business
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Oct 28, 2011

LAIS 321: Literary Spain
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Apr 6, 2012






LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES RESEARCH GUIDE
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Apr 11, 2012
This is a general guide for language study and general literature resources.

LATIN AMERICAN AND IBERIAN STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
Resources for the study of Latin American, Spanish, and Portuguese languages, literatures, and cultures.

LDST 205 - Justice and Society - Dr. Hicks
by Lucretia McCulley - Last Updated Sep 15, 2011
Includes suggested resources for the assignment: Analysis of a Social Issue in Richmond



LDST 399 - Junior Honors Tutorial - Hicks
by Lucretia McCulley - Last Updated Jan 16, 2012
Suggestions for Library Research


LEARNING LANGUAGES AND TRANSLATING TEXTS
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Nov 1, 2011
Library and Web resources for self-directed language instruction and for translating between languages.

Lindisfarne Gospels (Facsimile Edition)
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated May 10, 2012

Local Foods
by Carrie Ludovico - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012

M
MANAGEMENT RESEARCH GUIDE
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Aug 3, 2011

MARKETING RESEARCH GUIDE
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Sep 14, 2011

MATHEMATICS RESEARCH GUIDE
by Melanie Hillner - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012

MBA 532: Mergers & Acquisitions
by Lit Maxwell - Last Updated Aug 30, 2011



MLA 508U - Science Seminar
by Carrie Ludovico - Last Updated Jan 16, 2012

MOBILE ACCESS - APPS & DEVICES
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Nov 17, 2011
Find out what databases have mobile access, their own apps and see the lists of educational apps that the librarians have chosen as great ways to utilize your mobile devices in & out of the library!

MODERN LITERATURES AND CULTURES RESEARCH GUIDE
by Marcia Whitehead - Last Updated Apr 11, 2012
Guide to resources for the modern languages, literatures, and cultures of Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.

MUSIC SUBJECT GUIDE
by Linda Fairtile - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Resources for music research and for finding materials in Parsons Music Library

N
NEWS SOURCES RESEARCH GUIDE
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated Nov 30, 2011

O
ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES RESEARCH GUIDE
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Nov 17, 2011
Resources to help you find quick reference sources from UR databases and websites. Almanacs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, biographical information, and other general reference links are included.

P
PHIL 598U: The Problem of Evil
by Carrie Ludovico - Last Updated Apr 17, 2012

PHILOSOPHY RESEARCH GUIDE
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Oct 4, 2011
Start here for help with your philosophy research. Recommended databases are included, as well as information on how to contact the Philosophy Librarian.

PHYSICS RESEARCH GUIDE
by Melanie Hillner - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012

POLITICAL SCIENCE RESEARCH GUIDE
by Laura Horne-Popp - Last Updated Oct 28, 2011
Find information regarding the field of political science.



PSYCHOLOGY RESEARCH GUIDE
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated May 15, 2012

R
RELIGIOUS STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE
by Carol Wittig - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012
Start here for help with your religion research. Recommended database resources are included, as well as information on how to contact the Religion Librarian.


RICHMOND AREA RESEARCH GUIDE
by Lucretia McCulley - Last Updated Jul 27, 2011
Links and resources about the Richmond area, including local government, history, culture, etc.

S
SafeZone Library Resources Guide
by Lucretia McCulley - Last Updated Mar 3, 2011
Provides LGBT library resources to students, staff and faculty at the University of Richmond

Soc 101 - Ransom
by Olivia Reinauer, Laura Horne-Popp - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012

Soc 101 - Richards
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012


SOCIOLOGY RESEARCH GUIDE
by Olivia Reinauer - Last Updated Nov 17, 2011

SSIR: Leadership and the Common Good
by Lucretia McCulley - Last Updated Nov 17, 2011
LIBGUIDE for Research Project


T
The Book of Kells (Facsimile Edition)
by Jim Gwin - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012

The Problem of Evil
by Carrie Ludovico - Last Updated Apr 17, 2012

THEATRE SUBJECT GUIDE
by Linda Fairtile - Last Updated Nov 14, 2011
Find information about theatre and theatre research

W
WILL Senior Seminar: Staying Connected
by Lucretia McCulley - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
Resources for Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies After Graduation


Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Laura Horne-Popp
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Boatwright Memorial Library
804.289.8851
AIM: lauramhorne
Send Email