Skip to main content
WGSS Handbook, Encyclopedias, etc.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media
Critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World
Covers the full array of contemporary women's issues in the arts, media, business, health and many other areas.
SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
Focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.
International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Features articles from international experts across the discipline of philosophy.
Preliminary Research: Defining and Narrowing Topics
Use specialized encyclopedias, handbooks and scholarly books for excellent
of possible topics. Use bibliographies at the end of encyclopedia articles for further inquiry. overviews and syntheses
How to find these sources?
- Ask Your Librarian!
- Use the
on the library's web site, Subject Research Guides
especially the . Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies Research Guide
- Search the following online reference databases to find overviews and background information.
SAGE Reference Online
Full-text encyclopedias and handbooks, primarily in the social sciences.
Collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Subject Specific Research
Start with the
and the Subject Research Guides to identify articles, books, statistics, studies and reports. Keep in mind that you may need to use multiple research guides and several different databases. A good way to identify further citations is to use the endnotes and bibliographies at the end of articles or books. Continue to ask librarians and professors for suggestions and guidance. UR Library Catalog
Head, Scholarly Communications